PDA

View Full Version : Finding clients for pet photography

alexdesign
10th of April 2011 (Sun), 05:17
I am new here. I am not a professional and haven't had a professional training. I've done pictures of my 2 dogs and when my husband showed my shots to his co-worker without telling her who was the photographer. First thing she thought that we've taken pictures at professional studio.

How do you go about finding clients to shoot their dogs/cats? My local vet (where I take my dogs to) already has huge portraits of dogs hanging in his reception area by some local photographer.

Where else can I find new business?
Thanks

conbu19
11th of April 2011 (Mon), 15:32
First things first, look through some of the animal photos posted by fellow POTN members, some of whom ARE world renowned photographers,look at the photos, read any description given about the taking of the photos, then try your best to emulate those shots, then post your pictures after you give them a very critical look yourself for Focus, Exposure and Composition...when you get to the point where you are sure your photos are magazine quality....you can start looking for people to pay you for your pictures...Good Luck! Steve B.

stayhumble
20th of May 2011 (Fri), 14:22
honestly save yourself the trouble. you still have lots to learn judging from your pictures. Whether or not you have the "eye" for it. we all have the eye, but paid clients expect much more.

theres a lot to photography youll learn on here. you have to be your biggest critique and also learn people will ALWAYS compliment your pictures, no matter how ugly. the best compliments are those that dont find your work aesthetically pleasing

Juneb
17th of June 2011 (Fri), 18:52