PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Photoshop to good to be true?


photography By Evangelos
3rd of May 2003 (Sat), 10:34
I got an email that said adobe photoshop full 7.0 for only $49.00 is it a scam? Any one also get this in there email? Here is the link let me know what you think?

http://www.digitalimagingdeals.com/index.cfm?aid=7&oid=77&pid=246

Sketcher
3rd of May 2003 (Sat), 11:19
Photography By Evangelos wrote:
I got an email that said adobe photoshop full 7.0 for only $49.00 is it a scam? Any one also get this in there email? Here is the link let me know what you think?

http://www.digitalimagingdeals.com/index.cfm?aid=7&oid=77&pid=246

(1). When you navigate away from the main page a popup with countdown ticker offers an additional 10% discount making it $35.95. (my Logitech MX700 Mouse cost more than that!)

(2). Both Pricewatch and CDW list the PS 7 retail upgrade for $139.00 (OEM licensing is much less expensive than retail, but never 75% less! AND PW doesn't offer OEM on that product right now).

(3). The "Terms and Conditions", "Return Policy" and warranty disclaimer are absolutely laughable. Read through them, you'll realize there isn't anything holding them accountable - not even their own assertion that they will refund unsatisfactory orders.

(4). Their root site doesn't list any other products. cutting the URL to http://www.digitalimagingdeals.com should at least bring you to their homepage which should list "other" products but it simply redirects to the cheezy PS 7 offer.

(5). There is no reference to Verisign or any other authentication service at first glance so I doubt they're on the up & up from that point Alone.

(6). I brought up the "Online Service Chat" on another computer and just let it sit. Looking at over a hour with a repeating prompt stating that all operators are busy.

(7). No contact phone number listed on the site. never Never NEVER buy from a online merchant if you cannot contact them via Telephone and or verify their physical address!!!!

(8). For kicks I initiated a fake order and the process and contact info warned me not to contact my CC company w/out first contacting their customer service (which is not listed or available via chat. My guess is you won't receive a constructive e-mail response either.) Further, it tried to bill my fake credit card # before posting a "Verify" screen prior to order placement.

(9). Checking the domain registrant information brings up incomplete registrant info. Phone # is incorrect as well as the address being unverifiable. The domain was created/registered last month. It's also interesting to note that the registrant, administrative contact and domain host listed are all digitalimagingdeals.com which cannot be directly contacted.

Eh, I dunno.... could be legit ;). Hey, if it looks like a fish, smells like a fish AND swims like a fish, then it's very likely a fish... but if it just smells fishy, then it's something to stay away from.

photography By Evangelos
3rd of May 2003 (Sat), 16:42
Thanks I also thik it's fishy. I will stay away. Thanks.

maryann
4th of May 2003 (Sun), 06:57
i have been recieving that email daily. I did not bite. I know when something is too good to be true...its too good to be true. Instincts count for something dont you think?

AndyDe
7th of May 2003 (Wed), 12:06
Bit like the 1Ds's on ebay for £1400.

hugodrax
7th of May 2003 (Wed), 12:10
OrgName: Asia Pacific Network Information Centre
OrgID: APNIC
Address: PO Box 2131
City: Milton
StateProv: QLD
PostalCode: 4064
Country: AU


even more evidence of danger.