View Full Version : Is this a good brand?
JonathanS2IS
25th of October 2005 (Tue), 10:34
http://cgi.ebay.com/LE-Lenses-Filters-Case-for-Canon-Powershot-S2-IS_W0QQitemZ7556659671QQcategoryZ50489QQrdZ1QQcmdZ ViewItem
Is this a good brand and price?
dcains
25th of October 2005 (Tue), 10:50
Couldn't be worse crap, and there couldn't be a worse dealer to buy from. Take a look at the Lensmate site:
http://www.lensmateonline.com/
USpenguin
26th of October 2005 (Wed), 14:31
Really? How do you know that about the seller?
nwyman
26th of October 2005 (Wed), 16:44
Really? How do you know that about the seller?
there are several photo dealers in NY who are actually the same organization under different names.
I'm pretty sure this is one of them. I had one bad experience with one of 'em and will never deal online with anyone now other than B&H Photovideo or Adorama Camera (and I prefer the former to the latter).
I bought a camera from one of the NY dealers who sweet-talked me into some third party converters. The camera was okay, but the lenses were totally useless.
One of the bad things about these dealers is that on the surface of things, they appear to be okay - they even have a rating system that declares them to be good value, but it's a rigged system; they set it up themselves.
I can't remember how I got wise to it, but there was a big write-up on it somewhere on the 'net.
Nancy
Blue Deuce
26th of October 2005 (Wed), 20:33
For the record I bought my 20d from them last Christmas and it was a smooth transaction. As for these lenses, they are junk.
kawwauser
26th of October 2005 (Wed), 21:07
i think a lot of the power sellers have to be watched most of the dvd,s ive bought have been pirates, also a program called watchdog investigated ebay regarding the selling of poitive feedback, i complained to ebay about the dvds, no reply ,the same person is still advertising the dvds today,the idea of a worldwide auction is great but you have to watch what you are doing ,i have bought many bargains its just a pity the few con merchants spoil the game.as usual
dicky109
26th of October 2005 (Wed), 23:26
Funny,
This name has been around for a long time, dating back to when they were actually a retail store in NYC, yet neither reselleratings.com nor bizrate.com has much on them. The current incarnation I believe has nothing to do with the former store.
I did find the following
http://www.bbbnewyork.org/businessreports/?id=66203
Regardless of whether this vendor is good or not, those are not good lenses and I second the suggestion for lensmateonline.com. They have great products and service and my only regret is that I now have a d-Reb XT and they don't sell any accessories for it.
Bob_A
26th of October 2005 (Wed), 23:32
Supposedly this is 47th Street Photo. Can anyone confirm?
http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/h0085.htm
If it is, I wouldn't buy from them.
dcains
27th of October 2005 (Thu), 01:08
A very good dealer in the NYC area (New Jersey ) is www.beachcamera.com, or www.buydig.com. They are in fact one in the same, and I can't tell you why they have two slightly different sites. I purchased from them several times, with great service, quick shipping, and competitive pricing. Not the sort of selection you'll see at B&H, but the more common stuff is available. No upselling, no "confirmation" calls, etc.
USpenguin
27th of October 2005 (Thu), 14:12
there are several photo dealers in NY who are actually the same organization under different names.
I'm pretty sure this is one of them. I had one bad experience with one of 'em and will never deal online with anyone now other than B&H Photovideo or Adorama Camera (and I prefer the former to the latter).
I bought a camera from one of the NY dealers who sweet-talked me into some third party converters. The camera was okay, but the lenses were totally useless.
One of the bad things about these dealers is that on the surface of things, they appear to be okay - they even have a rating system that declares them to be good value, but it's a rigged system; they set it up themselves.
I can't remember how I got wise to it, but there was a big write-up on it somewhere on the 'net.
Nancy
http://www.boredonline.net/phpbb/images/smiles/eusa_think.gif Interesting. Thanks for the info! Now I know what to be on the lookout for.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.