PDA

View Full Version : Night Images

JPE Motorsport
13th of November 2005 (Sun), 10:13
Hi I'll be attending the britcar event next week at brands and was wondering what setting can i use on my Fuji (excuse my language lol) ss5500 as i have never used it in the dark

ur help would be greatly appriciated

Jamie:D

PhotosGuy
13th of November 2005 (Sun), 10:54
Can't help with the ss5500, but maybe you should just go out & play in traffic some night & see what works best? ;) Or try some shots of parked cars where you live. (It gives the neighbors someone to talk about) :D
I'd use a external flash set on "M" so the cam wouldn't adjust for a white vs a black car.

JPE Motorsport
13th of November 2005 (Sun), 11:00
i'll rephrase my thread any CONSTRUCTIVE advice would b a great help

PacAce
13th of November 2005 (Sun), 11:20
I think Frank did give you some constructive advice. The best way to learn is to practice and that's what Frank was suggesting.

Now, if you're a total beginner and need exact step by step details on how to do it, then you should make that point clear, too, so that we don't make any assumptions about your level of knowledge.

GSH
13th of November 2005 (Sun), 11:25

It seemed constructive with a bit of humour to me...relax a bit will ya.

I'd suggest ISO as high as possible and max aperture, even then you might be struggling to keep the shutter speeds up. If you have to resort to flash take care not to dazzle the drivers.

I had the 70-200 f2.8 on the 20D for the Britcar 24 hours and even with the ISO wound up to 3200 it was fun trying to get the shutter speeds i needed during the night.

PhotosGuy
13th of November 2005 (Sun), 11:29
I did make the assumption that you were experienced based on your username "JPE Motorsport", & you weren't one of the people who ask questions like, "How do I take a pic of a gerbil in a parachute?"
So, same answer + what Leo said still applies from me.

fromthebleachers
14th of November 2005 (Mon), 15:55