PDA

View Full Version : Difference btween USM and DC motor to drive the AF

mlphotographer
21st of December 2005 (Wed), 17:23
Dear Users,

I'm new in the world of Canon Reflex Digital Camera. I have a Canon EOS 20D, and I'm looking for some lenses to start shoot photos.

I found lenses similar but with a difference with the USM or the DC motor to drive the AF of the lens. What is the real difference with those two systems?

I found this text in the camerahacker.com :

"The Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM lens has many features that I wish my Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens had. It has the following features lacking in the 50mm lens: 1) the ultra-quiet, ultra-fast, and ultra-discreet USM focus mechanism; 2) the AF/MF switch that works easily, smoothly, and consistently; 3) the non-rotating, internal focusing front.
As I mentioned in the 50mm lens review article, Canon's Micro-Motor is noisy and hunts quite a bit. It is hard to be discreet in a quiet social gathering when the lens is filling the room with motor whine because it is hunting back and fort trying to obtain a focus that it never finds. Canon's USM on the 85mm lens resolved all of those problems, and I can obtain focus quickly and discreetly with confidence."

Anyone could help me? Thanks a lot!! :)

tim
21st of December 2005 (Wed), 17:33
Welcome to POTN :)

That article's pretty stupid, it's comparing a $400 lens with an $80 lens. Compare with the 50mm F1.4 and they've got similar features, at a similar cost. There are threads around here every week about the 50mm F1.8 vs the 50mm F1.4, lets not start another one, but their respective prices reflect their abilities IMHO.

A better starter lens is the Sigma 24-70 F2.8, or the Tamron 28-75 F2.8. Having a zoom is great to start with, it'll do most of what you want, and you can get primes later if you need to :)

goatee
22nd of December 2005 (Thu), 04:52
Hi,