View Full Version : So What's The Scam here Then?
IainUK
28th of January 2006 (Sat), 13:31
If something seems too good to be true it nearly alyways is! So CS2 for £7.99 has to be dodgy. But it says that you can register it so I'm not sure what to think.
I'm guessing that if I Pay I just get a CDR in the box?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ADOBE-PHOTOSHOP-CS2-V9-Full-Version-Free-P-P_W0QQitemZ7214703715QQcategoryZ51344QQrdZ1QQcmdZV iewItem
colin uk
28th of January 2006 (Sat), 13:52
I have happened across software being sold that is fully functioning for a bargain price and I would say it’s not to uncommon but I think you would be taking a chance.
I'm guessing that if I Pay I just get a CDR in the box?
Yes I would expect your right about that.
kevin_c
28th of January 2006 (Sat), 14:11
I doubt if you get the box - just the CD-R I expect...
DavidW
28th of January 2006 (Sat), 14:51
I've reported this to eBay as probably unauthorised copies - it just doesn't add up. A new eBay user listing 18 copies of Photoshop CS2 for £7.99, no box or manual - they are almost certain to be illegal copies.
Photoshop is expensive, as is a lot of complex software - but piracy doesn't help any. If Photoshop CS2 is too much, you could always go for Photoshop Elements.
David
DavidW
28th of January 2006 (Sat), 14:54
More checking shows that all the user's feedback rating came from 1p (or 1 US cent) ebooks - this has 'scam' written all over it.
David
Matty777
28th of January 2006 (Sat), 15:00
But it says that you can register it so I'm not sure what to think.
I'd lay all my money it's a pirate. The registering would be a "keygen"
:shock: Can't say I'm shocked though, happens all the time on the Bay.
IainUK
28th of January 2006 (Sat), 16:24
yep - fair enough. Good job checking the feedback listings DavidW - I only looked at the number of feedbacks.
I have PS Elements 3 but I've been thinking of getting something else for a while. Looks like I'll be saving up a bit more for it then! :-)
snappa
28th of January 2006 (Sat), 16:44
I do not understand how somebody/anybody can auction illegal copies of software on eBay. I have looked on eBay before now hoping to find reasonably priced photographic software and have found loads of copies on there selling for considerably less than RRP. They are even described as copies with no manual or any other paperwork.
eBay must be aware of this so I would imagine reporting it to them will have no effect whatsoever.
IainUK
28th of January 2006 (Sat), 17:25
I guess that eBay are a victim of ther own success. How do you control that many items being sold? It's depressing but it's supply and demand...
NickSimcheck
28th of January 2006 (Sat), 18:55
A little birdy told me that what you get is a CD-R with the CS2 program and a Key Gen program. Personally, I don't mind giving the people at Adobe my money cause I feel the program is worth it. Unlike music, where somebody comes out with 1 good song and a crappy CD and then tries to con you into buying a $15.99 CD for one song.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.