PDA

View Full Version : I need a new lens & I'm on a budget

shredchic
5th of April 2006 (Wed), 21:49
I'm looking to spend about $400. I am thinking of adding the Tamron f/2.8 28-75 lens to my collection. I have read the reviews on here and on other places online, but is there anything else you guys can tell me?

I need a lens that will be helpful when shooting indoors where lighting is dim, as most churches and receptions don't have the best lighting.

If there is another lens better suited for my needs and in this price range, feel free to make suggestions.

My current gear is in my signature.

Remember, I'm no pro and this isn't my full time job.

Thanks for any assistance you can provide!

wazmunstr
5th of April 2006 (Wed), 22:31
go with the tamron. you will get many people here that will recommend it. its a great lens, i just prefer sigma :)

tim
5th of April 2006 (Wed), 22:34
I like the Canon 50mm F1.4 USM better in general, though I have and like the Tamron too.

sboerup
6th of April 2006 (Thu), 02:23
Dump the 35-80, if you can. This depends on what type of photography you use it for, and since its in the wedding section, I would get the Tamron for flexibility. Like tim, I like primes. Most favorite in that range are the 85 1.8 and 50 1.4, both that you can get under $400, or better yet, get the 85 1.8 and 50 1.8 for under $400. You will come to see photography in a new way with fast aperture lenses.

islandphoto
6th of April 2006 (Thu), 03:31
I've read some pretty good reviews on the sigma. I was pondering which one to get - the sigma or the canon. The canon is pretty expensive but I really want it and I might just have to bight the bullet.

ricohcam01
6th of April 2006 (Thu), 06:09
One word! ebay. :D I just won a bid on the Sigma 24-70mm 2.8 that I am buying for my 10D. I heard it is not a bad lens. I will post some images when I get it.

shredchic
6th of April 2006 (Thu), 06:48