PDA

View Full Version : How can it be so cheap? 10D for $979.00


JesseMcLean
30th of September 2003 (Tue), 16:07
When ever I search for camera prices, it seems like there are a few places that are always WAY under MSRP (by $200-$400). How can this be? Are they refurbed or gray market? I am looking at the Canon 10D, which is listed at $1,499 at 99% of stores, but "Hello Camera" (http://www.hellocameras.com/10d.html) is offering it for $1,189. And "Digital Liquidators" is offering it for $979.00! I always insure my equipment, so maybe its not a big deal if it breaks down after a year, becuase it will be replaced.

***Does anyone know why these prices are so low?

ctgoldwing
30th of September 2003 (Tue), 19:15
JesseMcLean wrote:
When ever I search for camera prices, it seems like there are a few places that are always WAY under MSRP (by $200-$400). How can this be? Are they refurbed or gray market? I am looking at the Canon 10D, which is listed at $1,499 at 99% of stores, but "Hello Camera" (http://www.hellocameras.com/10d.html) is offering it for $1,189. And "Digital Liquidators" is offering it for $979.00! I always insure my equipment, so maybe its not a big deal if it breaks down after a year, becuase it will be replaced.

***Does anyone know why these prices are so low?

check out: http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1646.html

the answer is obvious

MediaMagic
30th of September 2003 (Tue), 20:40
JesseMcLean wrote:
When ever I search for camera prices, it seems like there are a few places that are always WAY under MSRP (by $200-$400). How can this be? Are they refurbed or gray market? I am looking at the Canon 10D, which is listed at $1,499 at 99% of stores, but "Hello Camera" (http://www.hellocameras.com/10d.html) is offering it for $1,189. And "Digital Liquidators" is offering it for $979.00! I always insure my equipment, so maybe its not a big deal if it breaks down after a year, becuase it will be replaced.

***Does anyone know why these prices are so low?

Well, many of these advertisements are misleading. It's a ploy to get people to place an order to instigate a hard sell technique. The camera sale is for body only, no other packing whatsoever, no battery, no cable, no manual, nothing, and the shipping can be outrageously high, as much as 10-20 times normal shipping rates.

A sales representative will contact the buyer and give a very hard sales pitch. "The camera cannot be used without X, Y, and Z, additions, etc", or "this is a combo deal, you must purchase This and That to receive this special price." And in many cases, if the "extras" are not purchased, nothing is ever shipped at all, or if it is, you'll find the items you didn't order to be charged to your card anyway and shipping costs tripled between the time you place the order and the time you get the bill.

A major scam game.

David

k-j-m
1st of October 2003 (Wed), 05:14
As the old axiom states:

"If it sounds too good to be true - it most likely is"

I too am in the market for a 10D and have checked out a lot of mail order sites. My best advice to you is Do Your Research! A simple and effective way is to check out the BBB - you will find that many of these companies (especially based in New York) have many complaints against them, often times unresolved. If I am going to be laying out $1000+ for a new camera, I will be sure I know who I am dealing with, and exactly what I'm getting into!

kjm

John_T
1st of October 2003 (Wed), 05:56
How did this thread land in Critique Corner?