PDA

View Full Version : Quantaray lenses

johnthebaptist
27th of July 2006 (Thu), 13:14
I'm new to this hobby so please go easy on me. Are Quantaray lenses worth taking a look at? I am simply into photography as a hobby (for now:)) and I took a look on the Wolf Camera site. I saw some Quantaray lenses that looked appealing but, after seeing the price, would I be wasting money I could save to get a good lense? Example: Quantaray 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 High Speed Auto Focus Zoom for EOS Canon for $159.95

As you can see on my gear list I don't yet have a DSLR, but I'm saving for a Rebel XT (black body) in the near future. Thanks for the help. I have great respect for the opinions on this forum.

Jon
27th of July 2006 (Thu), 13:29
No - they're not worth it. You can get better-quality lenses from reputable brands like Sigma or Canon for about the same price through reliable Internet vendors such as B&H Photo & Electronics. Before you order your camera, check the vendor at resellerratings.com.

cmM
27th of July 2006 (Thu), 13:41
after extensive forum discussions and analysis of these lenses, the ultimate unanimous conclusion was that ... they're poop :-P

hudsonch
27th of July 2006 (Thu), 13:57
I'm new to this hobby so please go easy on me. Are Quantaray lenses worth taking a look at? I am simply into photography as a hobby (for now:)) and I took a look on the Wolf Camera site. I saw some Quantaray lenses that looked appealing but, after seeing the price, would I be wasting money I could save to get a good lense? Example: Quantaray 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 High Speed Auto Focus Zoom for EOS Canon for $159.95

Quantaray is the house brand of Wolf/Ritz Camera Store. They are rebadged third party lenses. According to different sources, the lens' IQ is at par with other inexpensive third party lenses. Fair enough.