View Full Version : Canon Outlet on eBay ????
alansi
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 05:07
I have just come across a seller on eBay called canon_uk1 who is claiming to be what looks like an official Canon outlet shop selling refurbished Canon film bodies and lenses. They are using Canon's logo, and the web-pages do look like what Canon uses on their own website ?? A quick check on their feedback reveals that they have only sold 1 camera & several single rolls of colour film - ALL with positive feedback !!! Looks a little bit dodgy to me - so perhaps this could act as a warning for users of this forum? It could of course be a legitimate seller - but until we hear otherwise take care.
(At the moment one of the items they have listed is a Canon EF 70~200 f2.8 IS for £999, with a six month guarantee.)
Merry Christmas from Northumbria - Alan
ron chappel
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 05:54
There was a discussion on photo.net about this seller the other day.Basically alot of things send up warning flags but he could well be legitimate......
Anybody in a position to pick up and pay for an item personally could do well
atleypnorth
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 06:55
if you look through to the faq you will note it is hosted at Digital River. As far as I know this is really Canon selling on refurbished / remaindered stock via e-bay. Just that all the auctions etc are handled by Digital River.
ie it is an offical Canon seller
fox1
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 07:36
I wouldn't class Digital River as a UK seller..
They ship from Hong Kong and goods are subject
to import taxes and duties etc.
If they claim to be in Essex, why don't they ship from Essex? :(
defordphoto
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 07:38
Run. Don't walk. Buy from reputable dealers ONLY!!!
Belmondo
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 09:12
If there is any question as to the legitimacy of a retailer, stay away from them.......the risks are simply too great. I'd much rather live with the possibility that I paid a few dollars too much than the reality that I got absolutely screwed.
There are 'going prices,' and there are reputable dealers. If you limit your expectations to paying the going price to a reputable dealer, you're never going to be disappointed.
That having been said, it seems to me these people should be willing to respond to an email inquiry as to their relationship with Canon.
Tom
atleypnorth
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 09:36
Where does it say they ship from Hong Kong ? Bit difficult todo next day Citylink from Hong Kong :)
I can say i am pretty sure that it is legitimate.. why?
well mainly cause of who i work for I know they were picked to do such a service for canon
atleypnorth
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 09:47
but then having pretty dodging looking feedback (as said before most on single rolls of film for £5!) doesnt
inspire confidence ... Canon should really have announcement some where saying they are using Digital River so people know it is ok ...
Belmondo
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 11:42
I bought my 17-40L on eBay, and it went just fine, and I actually saved a couple dollars. Even so, I was younger (6 months) and more foolish then, and I really don't think I'd go that way again. I've heard a lot of stories, and I now see the potential for disaster.
I was just lucky.
defordphoto
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 11:46
You have aged so gracefully these past 6 months, Tom.
Belmondo
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 12:08
RFMSports wrote:
You have aged so gracefully these past 6 months, Tom.
Yeah, but I have aged.
Merry Christmas, Jim. BTW, I showed Lois (my bride) your picture of Honda. Now she wants a Maine Coon as a companion for our Siamese. Probably not a good move on my part.
defordphoto
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 12:24
belmondo wrote:
RFMSports wrote:
You have aged so gracefully these past 6 months, Tom.
Yeah, but I have aged.
Merry Christmas, Jim. BTW, I showed Lois (my bride) your picture of Honda. Now she wants a Maine Coon as a companion for our Siamese. Probably not a good move on my part.
And a very Merry Christmas to you and yours, Tom!!
Here's another shot of Honda. This was the first shot with my 10D and I think it's at ISO1600!
http://racefamily.racinglines.com/10D/Initial/img_0013_std.jpg
fox1
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 13:05
atleypnorth wrote:
Where does it say they ship from Hong Kong ? Bit difficult to do next day Citylink from Hong Kong
http://search.stores.ebay.co.uk/search/search.dll?GetResult&sid=48958090&query=canon&fp=0
defordphoto
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 13:21
Wow. The reviews say these guys walk on water. If I was an Ebay'r I'd probably buy from them. But I'm not. So I won't. Good luck.
atleypnorth
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 15:12
that is for a different ebay id .....
RichardtheSane
24th of December 2003 (Wed), 15:36
Digital River is an ecommerce hosting company
DigitalRev is an ebay seller in hong kong.
Unless you can point out a connection I think we can safely assume they are not the same company.
Motorsports Photo
25th of December 2003 (Thu), 15:15
I bid on a mapsource CD to fill my GPS memory with more roads.
The guy I bought from had good feedback, but I did think it was strange that all he sold was software and ALL as private auctions.
When I got my CD, It was an inkjet printed fake.
Ebay and paypal are much too slow to act.
I waited 2 days, added bad feedback and got an email confirming I wasnt the only one who got gypped.
Step right up and spin the wheel! Will you get lucky or lose your money! Step right up! (segue to the new ebay song...!)
Happy Holidays!
-Pete
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.