View Full Version : 20d...Good deal ?
Hawmaw
25th of October 2006 (Wed), 19:03
I've got the chance thru ebay to buy a lightly used 20d described as excellent condition + Canon 17-85 lens + Hama tripod + 1gb card + extra battery + polarising filter and a few bits and pieces.
The price is £555 + £15 postage.
Is this a good deal?? It's at the very top of my price range and I would hate to waste my cash.
Replies needed asap as there's a deadline on this!
Stavhp
25th of October 2006 (Wed), 19:04
sounds good,too good, i would be careful about this one. Just the 17-85 is about £400-500
Hawmaw
25th of October 2006 (Wed), 19:09
It's someone in Edinburgh by the ebay name of Black Studios UK who's selling. I'm just about to google the name to see what I can come up with.
Hawmaw
25th of October 2006 (Wed), 19:26
sounds good,too good, i would be careful about this one. Just the 17-85 is about £400-500
Your right Stav. I just checked Jessops site. The lens is £433 !!
Stavhp
25th of October 2006 (Wed), 19:40
Well, as i have learnt, if it sounds too good to be true, it most of the time is
Hawmaw
25th of October 2006 (Wed), 19:41
I've just sent the seller an email asking if I can collect and pay cash. It's only an hours drive away. Lets hope it's legit.
braduardo
25th of October 2006 (Wed), 19:43
I've just sent the seller an email asking if I can collect and pay cash. It's only an hours drive away. Lets hope it's legit.
That's the way to go!
Stavhp
25th of October 2006 (Wed), 19:43
If it is then you are very lucky! Hope it is for yu
Hawmaw
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 05:41
The seller doesn't want to meet!! My head says " don't do it " but the greedy little monster in me says "take a chance"
Here's a link to the item. I was 3rd highest bidder and the seller has given me a 2nd chance offer.
Anybody else got thoughts on the matter?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=140044818857&ssPageName=STRK:MEDW:IT&ih=004
braduardo
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 05:49
Umm.... No...
If I remember right, Ebay/PayPal won't protect your purchase if you do it that way. He gets your money, and you'll be lucky to get an empty box.
psmoore
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 06:49
If it sounds to good to be true, it IS to good.. Especially if he don't want to meet...
sadler21
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 08:55
The seller doesn't want to meet!! My head says " don't do it " but the greedy little monster in me says "take a chance"
Here's a link to the item. I was 3rd highest bidder and the seller has given me a 2nd chance offer.
Anybody else got thoughts on the matter?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=140044818857&ssPageName=STRK:MEDW:IT&ih=004
2nd chance on something like that probably implies that he doesnt have a first one to sell either.
Heatseeker99
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 09:37
2nd chance offer implies that the sale to the winning bidder fell through for some reason and they are offering the next in line a "second chance." What usually is the case though, is that the seller is using an alternative account to aid in a bid war. Once he wins, he'll offer the second higest bidder a second chance offer. It is just a ploy to drive up the sale. Whenever I get a second chance offer I usually pass because of this.
Trumper
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 10:16
If he does'nt want to meet and the lens is worth almost as much as the whole package,i would be VERY VERY Cautious.I would listen to your instincts and brain.
steve maec
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 10:18
i have the lens and it is a good lens with IS.I paid around $560.
TeeJay
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 10:19
DON'T DO IT!!!
TeeJay
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 10:22
I bet the "second chance" also suggested paying by direct bank transfer!
I've heard a lot about items such as this - they don't exist. The seller (or someone they know) "wins" the bid, then they contact the next person down the list to give them a "second chance", but offering to do the deal "direct" - they get your money, you get an empty box!!
BE WARNED!
KevB
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 10:24
I wouldnt touch it. I was given a second chance offer recently on a 1D MK2 and after some suspicion I contacted Ebay who said not to touch it as was a scam.
runninmann
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 14:26
In my experience, in the U.S., legitimate 2nd chance offers come through eBay, not through the seller.
mika73
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 14:52
Don't do it! the account likely has been Phished. I had the same thing happen to me 5 months ago with a seller out of the UK. I figured it out in the nick of time. Hackers troll finished auctions for big ticket items and then try to fool non winning bidders under the disguise of a second chance offer.
Hawmaw
26th of October 2006 (Thu), 15:49
I didn't do it although I believe it was probably genuine. It would have used up all my cash and I wasn't prepared to blow it.
Hawmaw
27th of October 2006 (Fri), 07:43
Well , as usual I made the wrong move!!
The 2nd chance offer was genuine. The camera and kit has now been re-listed with a buy it now price of £685.
Win some , lose some.
mika73
30th of October 2006 (Mon), 11:12
Hey, better safe... besides, would you want to deal with a seller that would not let you pick up in person? It really seemed shady.
steved110
30th of October 2006 (Mon), 16:45
You made the right call. you couldn't afford to lose the cash, and the seller was acting oddly. i cannot see why he would mind you doing a cash pick up - saves all the hassle of post and packaging for a start - and cash is cash.
Paypal protection ius worth very little, but if you fund the purchase with a credit card you do have more comeback through the card company.
casaaviocar
30th of October 2006 (Mon), 17:31
I didn't like his listing, there isn't an actual photo of the camera in his listing. He shows the box and the case, but only stock photos of the camera and lens. The fact that he didn't want to meet would have nixed it right there for me.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.