PDA

View Full Version : Can someone tell me what I have (Norman 200b)

sadyrose
1st of November 2006 (Wed), 19:40
I have inherited a Norman 200b set up, but I haven't the slightest idea what to do with it. I don't know if it's complete, if it can be used with my XT or if I should just toss it. I have pluged what I assume is the charger into the battery pack to charge it, but the batter doesn't seem to charge. It looks corroded inside so I guess that is in need of replacement. Everything else looks fairly good, but again I don't know anything. I'm a recent graduate to DSLR's and all the many many addons that come with the this new world. I have included a picture of everything in hopes someone can tell me what I have.

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b367/Sadyrose/norman200bedit.jpg

Thank you for any and all help!

FlashZebra
1st of November 2006 (Wed), 22:58
This is a relatively powerful, battery powered, and moderately portable, flash unit.

It has:

A power pack
A battery pack that fits inside the power pack
A charger
A flash head

If the unit is old, it is very likely the battery pack is bad. I would be careful with the battery pack if it is very old, some of these were lead acid packs, and if it is old and corroded you might get caustic debris that may be dangerous.

It might work fine with a new battery.

If you do get it going be careful if you hook it up to your XT DSLR. It is likely to have a high sync Voltage that may damage your camera. There are inexpensive devices that go on the sync cord that can make the Voltage fine for your camera.

Even if you do not want it, I would not just toss it out (tossing the battery might be a very good idea). It may provide utility to some other human.

For the right price I might even be interested.

Enjoy! Lon

sadyrose
2nd of November 2006 (Thu), 07:23