PDA

View Full Version : EOS-1D MkII


PaulB
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 08:16
It seems this is the real thing - at least the specification is the same as the one I saw some while ago but could not release.

ohttp://www.cci.canon.fr/produit.php?prod_id=496ne

Seen on dpreview a short while ago.

iwatkins
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 09:21
Nothing there ? Even if you remove the "o" from the begining of the link.

Anyway, unlikely to be real, Canon (France) website is http://www.canon.fr/ not http://www.cci.canon.fr/ so i would guess it is another spoof.

EDIT - Actually, I'll retract that, cci.canon.fr *is* owned by Canon, so if that link worked it would be on a genuine Canon site.

Cheers

Ian

PaulB
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 09:35
Ian the site is OK, the link was down a couple of minutes after I posted it here! Seems like a slip-up by our Gallic cousins.

The spec. is spot on the one I saw well before Christmas and is not likely to be a spoof because of that.

Andy_T
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 09:55
So for those of us who missed it, why don't you reiterate the specs in RFMsport'r PMA rumor thread? :lol:

Regards,
Andy

PaulB
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 10:06
If you go to the 1D forum on dpreview you can see the original spec. sheet - and for two new lenses - in PDF format.
And I still haven't betrayed a confidence.......

KennyG
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 10:06
Details and discussions on the information:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1032&message=7418724

8.5MP, 8fps with 40 shot buffer, ISO 50 to 3200, improved WB, etc.

Two new lenses, 28-300L to replace the 35-350 and a 70-300IS which looks like a DO model.

thom@s
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 10:44
Seems like a slip-up by our Gallic cousins.
We are just french people ;) :lol:

D60DIETER
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 11:06
:wink:

Here ist the link to someone who captured (or faked) it. We will see.

http://www.muhlenbock.com/122.pdf

D.

PaulB
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 16:01
Even Rob Galbraith has relaxed his forum rules regarding 'rumours' in the case of the 1D MkII - must be true after all!

CyberDyneSystems
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 18:26
I think it's real,
The PDF were downloaded directly from the Canon France website. (now they are down too)

28-300mm "L" IS ??? This is an intersting lens.

evilenglishman
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 18:31
i think its real too.
what a disappointment! it isn't white, doesn't have red lines around it, wont play mp3's, in fact all it does its take photos!!!

what a jip!

defordphoto
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 18:34
I moved the link (the one that works) into my thread. Hey guys, that's what that thread is for. This is a great find!! The facts are coming in at last!!

CyberDyneSystems
27th of January 2004 (Tue), 18:38
See here for more info;

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=142542#142542

mvrekum
28th of January 2004 (Wed), 01:24
Sorry to disappoint you guys, but I think this is totaly crap. Why?

First of all the PDF that everybody is so full about is amateur work. Please compare this yourself with the PDFs of other Canon cameras.

Secondly the PDF is supposed found on the site of Canon France. This can not be true, because all european websites link for brochures to the site of Canon europe (www.canon-europe.com)

Third Canon announced they would publish 20 new digital cameras this year. That is an average of about 2 cameras a month. So why does somebody who finds Canons new "top" model doesn't find any other cameras, he finds only that what everybody is waiting for.

There are to many signs that this is a made up story. So I hope you do not fall for this.

Martin

mvrekum
28th of January 2004 (Wed), 01:46
How to set up a scam like this:

1. Find a heavily used forum for digital Canon cameras

2. Register yourself on that forum several times under different IDs

3. Design a PDF with the required information

4. Search Canon France for a link that does not work. They use a numeric ID for their pages wich is not sequential, so you can easy find some numbers that do not work.

5. Publish your found link(s) on the forum. Everybody will look for the page, but nobody will find anything, since the pages do not exist.

6. Log on the forum with your second ID and post an "I have seen it to" message.

7. Log on with your third ID and post some information of this new camera.

8. Now log on with you last ID and publish a link to your home made PDF (which does not follow Canons corporate Identity guidelines => mistake).

9. Now nobody has seen it but everybody believes it. We are having a big laugh now :lol: :lol: :lol:

Fall for it if you want to

PaulB
28th of January 2004 (Wed), 05:49
See my reasons for this being 'right' in the Rumour thread

Pekka
28th of January 2004 (Wed), 06:29
This thread continues in http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24029