PDA

View Full Version : Shooting my first wedding....desperately needing tips.

Holly
17th of February 2007 (Sat), 19:51
I will be shooting my first wedding in August. So, I have some time to research. I will not be charging for this, because I have no experience in this area. Thankfully the bride is a friend and knows this, but I still want to do well.

I have a 350D
canon 200mm macro
canon 1.4f 50mm
canon 90mm
canon 55mm
sigma 300mm

I do not have a flash. I think I may need one. Any suggestions on that?

I have been looking at a lot of books and on this site, but any tips would be great.

From what I know so far it will be an outside wedding in the evening.

I look forward to any advise. :)

PhotoJourno
17th of February 2007 (Sat), 20:15
Ok. If I were going to shoot my first wedding, I would want to be backup, in order to relieve some of the pressure of having to get it right the very first time.

During Weddings, low light photography is a must. This means three things: Wide Aperture Values (f/2.8 and wider), IS Image Stabilization, and Flash Photography.

From there, it all branches out to what kind of photographer you are, and the tools you will be most comfortable with for the event. Here is where practice is invaluable.

I personally favor the looks of wide aperture values, and use flash as little as possible, and whenever vital, I will attempt to bounce it off a wall or something else. Just got my first IS lens, and so far I am very impressed with the results.

First two items on the checklist should be mem cards and batteries.

For what I hear, foremost lens in Wedding Industry is 17-55 IS Lens by Canon. However, if you have all those primes and are used to composing with those, you might be able to pull it off.