PDA

View Full Version : Fake Hoya filters?


circa
8th of March 2007 (Thu), 20:17
I'm going to be ordering a Hoya Pro1 Clear filter from eBay and it will be coming from Hong Kong, is there a possibility of it being fake or not authentic Hoya? I know that might sound dumb but I don't want to get some piece of crap glass over my 70-200 2.8.

SYS
8th of March 2007 (Thu), 20:45
I'm going to be ordering a Hoya Pro1 Clear filter from eBay and it will be coming from Hong Kong, is there a possibility of it being fake or not authentic Hoya? I know that might sound dumb but I don't want to get some piece of crap glass over my 70-200 2.8.

I ordered one (CPL, though) from the eBay seller "besteastern" and my Hoya filter (paid $105) came from "MaxSaver.com." I don't want to accuse them of selling fake Hoyas since I don't have any proof, but after taking several photos with it, I'm so disappointed with it that I don't even use it anymore. Symptoms: in spite of using it properly, i.e., 90 degrees from the sun, I'm getting extreme polarization as well as banding (water-like streaking across the blue part of images). You might expect it from the wide open 10-22mm UWA lens, but I'm talking about images taken at 22mm. Other forum members have used the same filter on the same lens with drastically different outcomes. I wouldn't order anything from them. I'd much rather pay the full price in the states just for the sake of peace of mind that you're not getting a fake copy. By the way, I did notice that MaxSaver.com also sells Louis Vuitton at much cheaper prices. Louis Vuitton? Hmmm....:rolleyes:

Heatseeker99
8th of March 2007 (Thu), 20:53
I ordered one (CPL, though) from the eBay seller "besteastern" and my Hoya filter (paid $105) came from "MaxSaver.com." I don't want to accuse them of selling fake Hoyas since I don't have any proof, but after taking several photos with it, I'm so disappointed with it that I don't even use it anymore. Symptoms: in spite of using it properly, i.e., 90 degrees from the sun, I'm getting extremely polarization as well as banding (water-like streaking across the blue part of images). You might expect it from the wide open 10-22mm UWA lens, but I'm talking about images taken at 22mm. Other forum members have used the same filter on the same lens with drastically different outcomes. I wouldn't order anything from them. I'd much rather pay the full price in the states just for the sake of peace of mind that you're not getting a fake copy. By the way, I did notice that MaxSaver.com also sells Louis Vuitton at much cheaper prices. Louis Vuitton? Hmmm....:rolleyes: its www.maxsaver.net and I don't see any Louis V. on there. Got a link?

SYS
8th of March 2007 (Thu), 21:05
its www.maxsaver.net (http://www.maxsaver.net) and I don't see any Louis V. on there. Got a link?

You're right, it's not ".com" but ".net." It's been a while since I got into their website. VERY interesting... I do recognize the website design as the one I saw as selling Louis Vuitton along with photo accessories, but I don't see it now... One thing that I do know for sure is that I wasn't and AM NOT hallucinating what I saw. :rolleyes:

SYS
8th of March 2007 (Thu), 21:13
By the way, my first instinct when it comes to something like this is to protect fellow consumers and particularly fellow POTN family members NOT to make the same mistake that I made, but then my second instinct is to hope that others order the same item from the same seller so that I can find out for SURE whether I got a fake or a genuine copy..... ;)

circa
8th of March 2007 (Thu), 23:30
exactly what I like to hear:mad:

anyone else have any imput?

Woolburr
8th of March 2007 (Thu), 23:49
You get what you pay for...plain and simple...pay bargain basement prices, expect to see bargain basement results.

griftnet
9th of March 2007 (Fri), 07:10
I get mine from http://www.2filter.com. They have a good selection and prices.

vondo
9th of March 2007 (Fri), 07:19
This has been discussed many, many times before. The prices of maxsaver/besteastern are not exactly bargain basement. Something like 65% of U.S. prices. I for one think its possible that these items are available nearer the source for less and that the mark-up in the U.S. is large because we can afford it. Kenko extension tubes are available at about the same discount.

To those who say "You get what you pay for...plain and simple...pay bargain basement prices, expect to see bargain basement results" I ask, "Have you bought these filters?" If not, it's just your opinion. In fact, this is the first person I've seen WHO HAD THE FILTERS saying there was a problem.

BTW, I soon will have a 58mm S-HMC filter from B&H and another one from MaxSaver. If anyone wants to volunteer to do a real test (I don't know how) I will send you both of them. I'd be very interested in the results.

SYS
9th of March 2007 (Fri), 11:38
This has been discussed many, many times before. The prices of maxsaver/besteastern are not exactly bargain basement. Something like 65% of U.S. prices. I for one think its possible that these items are available nearer the source for less and that the mark-up in the U.S. is large because we can afford it. Kenko extension tubes are available at about the same discount.

To those who say "You get what you pay for...plain and simple...pay bargain basement prices, expect to see bargain basement results" I ask, "Have you bought these filters?" If not, it's just your opinion. In fact, this is the first person I've seen WHO HAD THE FILTERS saying there was a problem.

BTW, I soon will have a 58mm S-HMC filter from B&H and another one from MaxSaver. If anyone wants to volunteer to do a real test (I don't know how) I will send you both of them. I'd be very interested in the results.

Yes, one thing that'd definitely clear things up for me is if I could find someone with the exact same Hoya filter that I got from MaxSaver but bought it from BH or 2filters.com and compare. Unfortunately, I don't know of a single soul around me who takes photography as seriously as I do.

Littlefield
10th of March 2007 (Sat), 01:35
Maxsaver is a good company , Even Fred Miranda guys use them .

Mike-DT6
22nd of December 2007 (Sat), 02:40
So, are these people selling fakes?

http://hvstar.net/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=9

Mike

Michael
22nd of December 2007 (Sat), 02:59
So, are these people selling fakes?

http://hvstar.net/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=9

Mike
No.

sOid
22nd of December 2007 (Sat), 06:48
So, are these people selling fakes?

http://hvstar.net/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=9

Mike

Nope. Good quality, well packed and fast delivery. Oh, and also a great price ;) Recommended!

Mike-DT6
22nd of December 2007 (Sat), 13:27
Okay, thanks. I was a bit wary after SYS had a few doubts about his one.

Mike

jhom
22nd of December 2007 (Sat), 20:59
I bought several B+W CPLs and Hoya/Kenko filters from hvstar.net (aka Besteastern, maxsaver). All the filters appear to be genuine. If they are, then they are great quality fakes.

Most importantly for me, the IQ I get when I use them is top notch. I would buy from them without reservation.