PDA

View Full Version : Lens selection ?

Charlie K.
11th of April 2004 (Sun), 13:07
Looking for a helping hand in choosing the right equipment. I currently have a 10D ,28-135 is, 50mm 1.4 and some other minor goodies. I have set aside 4k to purchase some new equipment for this hobby. My thoughts for the purchase are..
70-200 2.8 is
100-400 is
bg-ed3
550ex
st-e2
I believe this should cover me for just about anything I would be shooting. Most of my photo interests are wildlife and other nature related items, excluding landscapes. Where I run into the problem is trying to decide if it's overkill on the lenses and maybe I should consider the 1.4 and 2x extenders along with the 70-200 and skip the 100-400. This would save me approx 600.00 that I could roll into other items for the setup. I am by no means a pro, used to shoot for money years ago, just sort of an enthusiast in the field now. Thanks for the time and keep up the great forum.

DaveG
11th of April 2004 (Sun), 13:47
Looking for a helping hand in choosing the right equipment. I currently have a 10D ,28-135 is, 50mm 1.4 and some other minor goodies. I have set aside 4k to purchase some new equipment for this hobby. My thoughts for the purchase are..
70-200 2.8 is
100-400 is
bg-ed3
550ex
st-e2
I believe this should cover me for just about anything I would be shooting. Most of my photo interests are wildlife and other nature related items, excluding landscapes. Where I run into the problem is trying to decide if it's overkill on the lenses and maybe I should consider the 1.4 and 2x extenders along with the 70-200 and skip the 100-400. This would save me approx 600.00 that I could roll into other items for the setup. I am by no means a pro, used to shoot for money years ago, just sort of an enthusiast in the field now. Thanks for the time and keep up the great forum.

The 70-200 f2.8 is great lens. I have the non IS version and it's wonderful. Although I'd