PDA

View Full Version : "Working" Color Space - sRGB, Abobe RGB, and ProPhoto RGB

StealthLude
13th of April 2007 (Fri), 05:12
After getting Lightroom, I decided to make my working color space Pro Photo RGB per Light Rooms recommendations.

I understand that sRGB is pretty much the standard for web, and almost all printing labs that I go to.

I soon found out after sending a photo for print with a Pro Photo RGB color space that photo colors are not correct...

The last step prior to printing, I have been been taking the photo (in Photoshop) and then using the Convert to Profile feature in Photoshop to sRGB right before printing.

I just wanted to see what you guys like to use. I am obviously trying to achieve the max quality and color gamut during editing, but is the last step of converting the profile the correct process?

If not, what do YOU do?

islandphoto
13th of April 2007 (Fri), 05:16
I'm not very good at this, sorry! But thanks for the question - I'll be following the thread for advice :)

René Damkot
13th of April 2007 (Fri), 05:20
You might want to read this (http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=296149) thread, and follow a few links from there...

I convert to sRGB for web / mail.
Mostly I use AdobeRGB (8bpc or 16bpc), occasionally ProPhoto or WideGamutRGB (16 bpc off course)

tim
13th of April 2007 (Fri), 05:55
Read the color book I recommend, see link in sig below. If you use ProFoto RGB make sure the color space is embedded and your print shop supports that color space, otherwise it'll look crappy.

BestVisuals
13th of April 2007 (Fri), 05:56
Shoot the color space that everyone uses - sRGB. AdobeRGB is a bigger color space and can cause banding and loss of gamut when converting to sRGB. I've seen people want to get "all the colors possible" by shooting color spaces larger than sRGB but it's not smart to do that for 99% of photographers out there. Here's why: