PDA

View Full Version : EBAY?? MKII??


NILOLIGIST
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 09:36
Would you buy this MKII on ebaby?

Here is the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?MfcISAPICommand=ViewItem&item=381274 6278

NiL,

Bruce Hamilton
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 11:05
Guess he changed his mind about selling, and ended it early... Personally, I'd have been leary about it for a couple reasons. Opening bid $2,000 less than the BIN price? NO reserve? While most are waiting to get their hands on one, he has 2?

$2,850 would be a steal, if he made good, but I think you'd be kissing your money goodbye.

NILOLIGIST
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 11:10
I wasn't thinking about it at all, I rather be safe than sorry. Someone showed this to me and he was wondering why I didn't consider it.

I posted to see what others think.

Thanks for responding.

NiL,

Canuck
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 11:15
Did you look at the accepted methods of payment...
1) Money Order
2) Cashiers Cheque
3) MasterCard/Discover/Visa

Sounds to me like a dead ringer for fraud from abroad (to me).

Just for giggles, if I was in the US I'd e-mail to see it in person in Atlanta area, saying I am there on business and see what happens. I have a wild feeling there was something fishy...I can smell it over here!

As for straight out buying w/o seeing goods spending that kind of money, I don't think so. The only exception is from friends/family that I know personally. That totally floors me. This is a big reason I stay away from e-bay and buy from reputable dealers. Sure you may pay the cost, like $4500 vs $2850 from that one but you don't have to worry about it and it is safe.

Jesper
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 11:35
No, ofcourse it isn't a scam. It's just someone who is rich and who loves photographers, so he bought two brand new 1D Mark II's and now sells them for much less than what he paid for it, just because he likes us photographers so much.

*Snap*! I must have been dreaming! :lol: :roll:

Seriously, if you see something offered like the brand new 1D Mark II for much less than what it costs in a shop, you can be quite sure that it's a scam. Always be careful when you buy something online, via e-bay or otherwise. Don't send anyone money before you've seen the goods yourself or they have some kind of insurance that you can return the goods and get your money back (and I don't mean an insurance based on mutual trust).

PayPal works like this:
(1) you send your money to PayPal and tell them that you want to buy item X from person Y -> now PayPal holds the money
(2) person Y sends item X to you
(3) if you got item X in time and it looks good, PayPal sends the money to person Y
(4) if you did not receive item X or something is wrong with it, you send the item back and PayPal returns your money.

That way, PayPal makes sure that your money is safe and it's also safe for person Y, because if everything is OK he can be sure to get the money - you sent it to a trusted third party, PayPal, first.

Now the seller of those 1D Mark II's doesn't want a payment via PayPal, only via methods without a trusted third party - you'll have to trust him if you send him your money.

Sounds like a scam. You could ask him why he doesn't want to do business via a trusted third party and how he's going to make the transaction safe.

Canuck
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 12:05
No, ofcourse it isn't a scam. It's just someone who is rich and who loves photographers, so he bought two brand new 1D Mark II's and now sells them for much less than what he paid for it, just because he likes us photographers so much.


I was wondering what you are smoking and where you got it until I read beyond the *SNAP!* onwards. :lol: You have been here long enough to see a scam and you like me added some humour.

You make a good point abou tthe 3rd party. That is the icing on the cake as they say.

ron chappel
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 14:04
This one actually has no serious clues to being a scam.It could well be genuine.

The pickup-in-person option is great-nothing like it for eliminating the scammers :D
I suspect someone emailed him and offered him enough to end the auction early and he couldn't resist

cmM
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 14:08
Is he also auctioning on e-bay a yellow truck and a cat ?

Bruce Hamilton
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 14:17
This one actually has no serious clues to being a scam.

Compare the link above with this one (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=43454&item=3811854 558&rd=1), might feel otherwise. Too many similarities. ;)

Jesper
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 14:18
This one actually has no serious clues to being a scam.It could well be genuine.

The pickup-in-person option is great-nothing like it for eliminating the scammers :D
I suspect someone emailed him and offered him enough to end the auction early and he couldn't resist

Ok, despite the signs it could ofcourse be genuine, but then it's still very strange that someone sells two brand new 1D Mark II's for about 63% of the price you'd pay elsewhere. I wonder where he got the cameras from and why he's selling them for such a price. Surely, if he knows what he's selling, he knows that he can easily more than $ 2,850 for an 1D Mark II.

SoCal69
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 17:44
Although it looks like it could be genuine, I would avoid it. I notice that he has had no other auctions in the last 30 days, his ebay store has nothing in it and his feedback is primarily as a buyer. My best guess is that this is a hijacked ebay account. Steer clear.

CyberDyneSystems
28th of April 2004 (Wed), 21:37
Actually ,. that one was a scam.

A gent on FredMiranda "Ricardo Maui" or some such thing DID order two.. and DID seel one legitimately (at a profit) on E-bay...

BUT... this one is a direct copy of his post.. word for word and the scammer even hijaaked his images...

This was a Scam..