View Full Version : Purchasing a 10D on ebay??
TomC
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 06:59
Hello folks. I'm new to the forum. I'm considering purchasing a 10D in July. I've found some nice deals on ebay. (very high rating for some of these companies ** ~ 99% positive w/ 44000 entries)
These companies boast a US manufacturers warranty. Has anyone had any experience buying this way?? Is there a way to insure before purchasing that there is, in fact, a US manufacturers warranty??
Any help and advice on this subject would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
TomC
kahfluie
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 08:04
Personally speaking, unless it is a VERY well known company, I would not buy a NEW camera from EBAY.
ScottJE22
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 08:39
Personally speaking, unless it is a VERY well known company, I would not buy a NEW camera from EBAY.
I think I'd have a hard time spending that kind of money on eBay as well. If you decide to do it, make sure to use a REPUTABLE escrow company.
If you want to know what kind of sophisticated scammers there are on eBay, you might enjoy this link (http://69.93.112.102/~pbook/). It's a "buyer" scamming a seller and the seller getting even, but still makes you realize how shady some people are when it comes to $1,000 merchandise....
Andy_T
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 11:41
That's a funny story :lol:
Best regards,
Andy
Jon Borcik
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 11:45
Hey... forget EBay and buy my 10D with grip and additional accessories.
I'll make you a deal, email me if your interested.... my wife says I can't keep both bodies! :?
TomC
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 11:48
Thanks for all the replies so far. The other question... is there a way to see if a specific company is an "Authorized Canon" dealer. This would seem to help with the fraud issues as well.
That was a hilarious story.
Olegis
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 12:18
I just noticed that the B&H are selling the 10D at a "special price", which they don't display on their website. Just click on the "Email me a better price" link here (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=277768&is=REG) and you'll recieve $1,379.95 price via email.
TomC
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 13:38
I just noticed that the B&H are selling the 10D at a "special price", which they don't display on their website. Just click on the "Email me a better price" link here (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=277768&is=REG) and you'll recieve $1,379.95 price via email.
Thanks Olegis :lol:
sGu
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 15:22
that is THE longest story i've ever read online, but a good one.
i also recommend B&H, i've been with them for couple of months and placed 5 orders in total, never had a problem, and i don't mind paying tiny extra compare to the ebay price for the sake of security and guarantee.
good luck with ur purchase :)
TomC
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 15:50
that is THE longest story i've ever read online, but a good one.
i also recommend B&H, i've been with them for couple of months and placed 5 orders in total, never had a problem, and i don't mind paying tiny extra compare to the ebay price for the sake of security and guarantee.
good luck with ur purchase :)
How is BH?? I've heard some good things about them (also a lower price that I've had emailed to me). What types of payments will they accept. I dont have a credit card to use so I want to pay cash someway (certified check, etc.)
Tom
ScottJE22
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 16:32
that is THE longest story i've ever read online, but a good one....
Yeah - I should have warned you about that... the first time I came across it, I was at work and wasted a half-hour reading the whole thing. I was laughing out loud looking at the pictures of the P-P-P-Powerbook... :D
khkohl
1st of June 2004 (Tue), 20:05
I will be posting my 10D on Ebay tomorrow night. It is less than 90 days old. There are some good deals on ebay.
I love my Mark II !!!!
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.