View Full Version : PHISHING WARNING!
Pekka
4th of August 2007 (Sat), 21:46
It has come to our attention that some users have been sent a PM (private messages) containing a fake link (impersonating normal link to POTN forum page) to a phishing page, trying to get people's passwords. The spammer is now banned and PM messages deleted, but we would like you to remember:
Always check that when you type your forum password, the URL in browser address bar starts with
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...
If there is something else there please notify us ASAP. Thanks!
300Daz
21st of June 2009 (Sun), 08:04
Just thought I would let you know I received an email (in the account I have linked to my 'User CP') from a spammer which included the following link:
http://cashdirect.weebly.com/
The email stated I had rec'd a PM but when I checked my inbox at my User CP there was no message there.
I hope something can be done to block any further activity by this (and any other) spammer/s.
Thanks,
Daz
tommykjensen
23rd of June 2009 (Tue), 10:22
Unfortunately we cannot prevent spammers from using pm's to send such links. But as soon as members report such pm's to us the spammer will be banned and all pm's sent by that member is deleted. And thats the explanation why you did not have any pm's when you checked.
300Daz
25th of June 2009 (Thu), 08:33
Thanks.
Daz
40Doodle
9th of August 2009 (Sun), 10:32
I got a strange email today from POTN coming from this email address:
Canon Digital Photography Forums [webmaster@photography-on-the.net]
The link in the message that says it takes you back to POTN so you can view your private message actually does take you back to this address, but there is no private message waiting (my inbox was empty):
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/private.php
The email though (underneath all this) does advertise making money with your camera and signed by someone calling themselves "Stephen". I don't really get the purpose.
Just thought I give you a heads up that someone appears to be doing some spamming.
PS: The website link associated with the SPAM email I got was to:
http://www.digicamcash.net.tc
The strange thing I wondered about is how does this person get email addresses from POTN members and then send out a message that uses all the POTN ID's? I'm familiar with Phishing, but this email did not do any redirect to another website. It connects right back here and has every appearance of coming direct from POTN.
Pekka
9th of August 2009 (Sun), 11:02
40Doodle, you have got PM receipt of spam PM, PM was deleted and sender banned before you logged again in POTN - so the message was not there any more.
40Doodle
9th of August 2009 (Sun), 11:06
OK, thanks...I was wondering what happened to the PM and am certainly happy that you were on top of it and had already removed the SPAM.
ImageGroupPhotography
1st of July 2010 (Thu), 14:03
I was spammed by this Dbag
WalAllieo763
soulfly22583
1st of July 2010 (Thu), 14:10
I just got an email saying I had a PM from this guy - FloJamauu937
Im sure more spam, just wanted to inform the mods
tommykjensen
1st of July 2010 (Thu), 14:12
We are working on it.
Rodeo
1st of July 2010 (Thu), 16:07
As a new member, just a few days, I already received email from a "Banned" member". Not only that but having asked a ? I received two kind replies but now I'm unable to respond - as my log in, even when confirmed, asks me again to "Log in". I don't understand why I have to go through such a complex ritual just to get in touch. All of which makes me suspicious of this site. Well please, you "Canon Digital Photography" people, I think a reasonable explanation is in order. Rodeo.
Pekka
1st of July 2010 (Thu), 16:12
As a new member, just a few days, I already received email from a "Banned" member". Not only that but having asked a ? I received two kind replies but now I'm unable to respond - as my log in, even when confirmed, asks me again to "Log in". I don't understand why I have to go through such a complex ritual just to get in touch. All of which makes me suspicious of this site. Well please, you "Canon Digital Photography" people, I think a reasonable explanation is in order. Rodeo.
You will receive email when PM arrives if you have in http://photography-on-the.net/forum/profile.php?do=editoptions ticked on "Receive Email Notification of New Private Messages". If ithe message you received by PM is spam (and sender banned), it is most likely deleted when you get here to read it, but we have no access to deleted sent email from internet.
If you have trouble logging in, make sure you have cookies enabled and firewall or some other security suite you use does not delete them automatically.
tommykjensen
10th of February 2011 (Thu), 13:03
Just thougth I would bump this to remind everybody to check links in received pm's before clicking on them.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.