PDA

View Full Version : Shutterless camera, why not!?

aaronrider
6th of August 2007 (Mon), 01:49
Ok,

Im no expert, but I just dont see why they cant make a shutterless camera!

Of course with film you cant because it needs a shutter to keep the light from hitting the film...but why cant they do this with digital simply by turning the sensor off and on. They can make it so the sensor will turn on for a short duration ( 1/2500th for instance) to collect the light data, then turn back off and be done with the exposure. I dont see whats holding them back from doing this?

Just imagine not having to work with any shutter curtains. Flash photography without those darn max shutter syncs would be amazing! It would be so much easier and simpler. No shutter lag or anything. Not to mention you will never having to worry about wearing out your shutter.

BradT0517
6th of August 2007 (Mon), 01:54
Well there would still be shutter lag, but instead it would be called sensor awareness lag.

Hermeto
6th of August 2007 (Mon), 01:55
Shutterless cameras - with their own set of problems - already exist.
They are called P&S..

davesrose
6th of August 2007 (Mon), 01:58
We'd never hear the end of it from people complaining of dust on their sensors!!!!!!!!!!! ;):D

That, and maybe sand or dirt if they're changing lens in at an awkward location.

Roy P
6th of August 2007 (Mon), 02:56
The original 1D sensor does act as a shutter for faster speeds, the mechanical shutter being a 'protective cover' and used for slow speeds.

aaronrider
6th of August 2007 (Mon), 03:20
As for the dust, they can still have a cover over it that will open the moment you press the shutter half way to focus. By the time your ready to take the shot it will be fully open and ready to expose. I dont think dust will really be much more of a problem?

This would be nice because you will always be able to use the flash in normal mode without high speed sync screwing everything up

aaronrider