View Full Version : IS THIS, OR IS THIS NOT A SCAM????
Jostel
18th of August 2007 (Sat), 18:53
Hello.
A while back, I entered a photo contest on picture.com. Well, today in the mail, I get a letter stating:
" After thoroughly reviewing and discussing your photograph, I am pleased to announce that our Selection Committee has advanced your contest entry to semi-finalist in the Travel category in the International Open Amateur Photography Contest. Your photo will now be automactically entered into final competition to be held in the fall of 2007, where you now have an excellent chance of winning one of over 114 cash or gift prizes--including the $1,000.00 Grand Prize -- you may even win the $10,000.00 Annual Grand Prize!! We wish you the best of luck as you compete for these awards in the coming weeks.
And thats not all,...
Imagine your photograph featured in a beautiful coffee-table edition!
In celebration of your unique talent, and the priceless moment you have captured on film, we also wish to publish your photograph in out forthcoming anthology...
ENDLESS JOURNEYS.. "
( This is from the International Library of Congress; Owings Mills, MD)
The letter goes on to state there is no obligation to purchase the book, but I need to sign an artists proof statement that the photo is indeed mine, and to acknolwedge that the photo was chosen to be published in this book.
If I choose to buy the book, it is $69.95. for a nominal additional fee, I can include my profile.....
So. Has anyone ever heard of this???? Is it on the up and up, or is it a scam???
Thank you for any assistance!!!:lol::confused::confused::confused:
Oh yeah, there is NO OBLIGATION to buy anything, and I guess the photo gets printed no matter what, as long as I certify it is MY photo. Also, anyone can purchase the book at a bookstore....
Jon
18th of August 2007 (Sat), 18:56
Yeah. It's a scam. If you buy, you'll be published. If you don't, you'll never know that you weren't.
SuzyView
18th of August 2007 (Sat), 18:56
scam.
Jostel
18th of August 2007 (Sat), 18:58
Yeah. It's a scam. If you buy, you'll be published. If you don't, you'll never know that you weren't.
scam.
Poop!!!!:mad:
-Pleiades-
19th of August 2007 (Sun), 07:52
similar thing happened to my with my poetry. It was a long time ago, but pretty much the same thing. One of my poems one a prize and the asked to publish it in a book, which they did. I never bought the book tho.
I guess what they try to do is to just get as many people as they can, and get their photos (or whatever) in a book because someone will think "oh my photo's in a book, I'll have to buy it!"
So a 1000 photos in a book a possible 1000 sales.
Jostel
19th of August 2007 (Sun), 13:12
similar thing happened to my with my poetry. It was a long time ago, but pretty much the same thing. One of my poems one a prize and the asked to publish it in a book, which they did. I never bought the book tho.
I guess what they try to do is to just get as many people as they can, and get their photos (or whatever) in a book because someone will think "oh my photo's in a book, I'll have to buy it!"
So a 1000 photos in a book a possible 1000 sales.
And THAT makes perfect sense. Cuz the letter stated even though I could buy the book in a store, if I ordered it through thm, I would get it waaaaayyyy before the public date............:rolleyes::rolleyes:
Mum2J&M
19th of August 2007 (Sun), 13:45
Bastards. Sorry it sounds like a scam. :(
Jostel
20th of August 2007 (Mon), 19:26
Bastards. Sorry it sounds like a scam. :(
Well, you know the old saying; "If it sounds too good to be true-----".
And here I was all excited that they picked my photo out of all the entries, and they were alot!!!! Oh well..:oops::oops:
Are there any reputable photo contests out there, that aren't scams???:D
rhys
20th of August 2007 (Mon), 20:56
Well, you know the old saying; "If it sounds too good to be true-----".
And here I was all excited that they picked my photo out of all the entries, and they were alot!!!! Oh well..:oops::oops:
Are there any reputable photo contests out there, that aren't scams???:D
Not many.
Woolburr
20th of August 2007 (Mon), 21:01
Scam no...vanity publisher yes. They will put your photo in the book provided you buy a copy of the book...as long as you know that going in...you have to attend their convention to have a chance to win the 10K...and you also get to pay for any award you might win...hmmmmmmmm....they are legit...but just barely.
20droger
20th of August 2007 (Mon), 21:09
You, too, can be immortalized! Just send $$$ via certified check to We Feed Your Vanity, Inc., and see your photo/poem/manuscript in print!
Send your money, and you will be published. The book will look nice on your coffee table.
Jostel
20th of August 2007 (Mon), 21:15
Scam no...vanity publisher yes. They will put your photo in the book provided you buy a copy of the book...as long as you know that going in...you have to attend their convention to have a chance to win the 10K...and you also get to pay for any award you might win...hmmmmmmmm....they are legit...but just barely.
You, too, can be immortalized! Just send $$$ via certified check to We Feed Your Vanity, Inc., and see your photo/poem/manuscript in print!
Send your money, and you will be published. The book will look nice on your coffee table.
LOL!! I have never heard of the "Vanity Publisher"!!!
That is tooo much!! I am glad I didn't believe the letter!!
( A little disapointed, tho :(.. I could really have used that money to feed the "L" monster that dwells within....... )
And thanks to all for verifying it is indeed a 'scam'!!!!!!!! :lol::lol:
rhys
20th of August 2007 (Mon), 21:58
There are a lot of vanity publishers.
It can be an economic way of getting a certain number of books printed. If you already have a market it can work BUT the cost has to be low enough to make a profit.
csm328
21st of August 2007 (Tue), 09:37
You write poetry yet you can't spell or form a correct sentance? Interesting :)
similar thing happened to my with my poetry. It was a long time ago, but pretty much the same thing. One of my poems one a prize and the asked to publish it in a book, which they did. I never bought the book tho.
I guess what they try to do is to just get as many people as they can, and get their photos (or whatever) in a book because someone will think "oh my photo's in a book, I'll have to buy it!"
So a 1000 photos in a book a possible 1000 sales.
20droger
21st of August 2007 (Tue), 12:05
I'm a poet,
And I know it.
My feet show it—
They're Longfellows.
-Pleiades-
22nd of August 2007 (Wed), 03:41
You write poetry yet you can't spell or form a correct sentance? Interesting :)
Gee, fair go. When I wrote that I was on the end of my third 13hr day/night at a realy sh*tty stressful job and I was *trying* to function on only a few hours sleep. I just thought I would try and share my similar experience to try and *help* Jostel.
The next day after I posted that I re-read it, realised my mistakes, but didn't bother correcting it because people would have read it already and Jostel had already quoted me.
steved110
22nd of August 2007 (Wed), 13:58
Depends if you want to drop seventy bucks on a vanity book - some might find it worthwhile. I reckon everyone who entered got one of those letters.
I'd say scam.
KirkHMB
22nd of August 2007 (Wed), 14:49
I read about the poetry book scam somewhere. Some person baited the competition with some really HORRID poetry in their attempt to win. And of course, they won a chance to be published, if they pre-bought. Maybe a few people should enter, if all three win, only one buys the book, to see if all three are in. Which I doubt. I doubt I would have the energy to enter to play the scam.
Jostel
22nd of August 2007 (Wed), 19:13
Gee, fair go. When I wrote that I was on the end of my third 13hr day/night at a realy sh*tty stressful job and I was *trying* to function on only a few hours sleep. I just thought I would try and share my similar experience to try and *help* Jostel.
The next day after I posted that I re-read it, realised my mistakes, but didn't bother correcting it because people would have read it already and Jostel had already quoted me.
psssst.. if you want to edit your blurb, go right ahead!!! I'll edit my quote of your quote, and nobody will be the wiser!!!!!! But, sshhhhhhh, be vedy, vedy quiet!!!!!!!! :oops::):oops::)
-Pleiades-
22nd of August 2007 (Wed), 19:36
lol, thanks Jostel. It's all good now. It's all been said and done. :D
You got my drift anyway, even if I did make a few errors :rolleyes: ;)
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.