PDA

View Full Version : This is killing me...


DReb-MO
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 07:47
http://www.usaphotonation.com/products.asp?product_id=10117&engine=Google

Any experience with these guys. Not in reseller ratings. Thanks.

ijohnson
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 08:06
Sounds sketchy, very sketchy.

OR.....I'll take 2.

DReb-MO
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 08:08
I called. In stock for overnight - Grey market, no USA warranty

Yeager
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 08:08
I hate that. They TEASE you with that awsome price. Dont buy it. You dont know what you are getting yourself into unfortunatly.

CyberDyneSystems
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 08:35
There in Brooklyn.... I'd avoid them.

DReb-MO
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 08:40
So there's nothing one can buy in Brooklyn that isn't a scam? :?

Scottes
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 08:42
So there's nothing one can buy in Brooklyn that isn't a scam? :?

If you play the odds, no. I don't like the idea of giving up $1,000 of my money at 20-to-1 odds of getting anything besides a headache...

CyberDyneSystems
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 08:45
No... I'm just apperently completely bigoted against any vendors in Brooklyn... :roll:

They seem to have an unreasonably high track record of being very bad dealers.

Check resller ratings for;

Hotbuyselectronics.com
Broadwayphoto
A&M

etc.... all the worst ratings around.. all in Brooklyn.

Sorry if this offends anyone.. but it seems to be a reasonably consistent issue with the Brooklyn dealers.

CyberDyneSystems
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 08:49
Here is a nice list of places worth avoiding;

http://www.panix.com/~donwiss/pictures/BrooklynStores/

The long and short of it is that the reason the vendor above is not yet listed in reseller ratings is that it is most likeely just another website front end for Broadway or Hotbuys... once that site's name is smeared enough on reseller ratings they will dump it and make yet another.

Scottes
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 08:59
All of their Canon DSLRs are at about 2/3 what everyone else charges for them: http://www.usaphotonation.com/prodshelf.asp?sortby=retail_price&dept_id=2572&she lf_id=&pagenum=2

Rebel with Kit lens - $579. 10D, $825. Can you say "alarm" ?

The domain name was registered in February 2004. Very new.

Google show 1 hit on usaphotonation.com - their web site.

Google Groups shows 2 threads - people wondering if the place is too good to be true.


EVERYTHING about this place says "stay away"

Yeager
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 09:00
If you could go over there and buy it, maybe. But dont give them credit card address.

CyberDyneSystems
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 09:03
Many of them don't have actual stores you go to... those that do have completely different prices inside the stores than they do on there websites. If you look at say Braodwayphotos magazine ads they say right in the microfine print that they will not honor any of there advertised prices in the store. Prices are for phone orders only.

msvadi
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 09:26
http://www.usaphotonation.com/products.asp?product_id=10117&engine=Google

Any experience with these guys. Not in reseller ratings. Thanks.

no reseller rating MAY BE means that it's an old store with very bad reputation that just has changed its name.

blinking8s
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 09:28
bhphoto better be worthy, I need a camera by Friday afternoon...amazon says 1-2 days to ship out for a 7n, but if i pay $80 more it will shop out right away...thats sicls

MrKickalot
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 09:51
It might not be a complete scam... when I bought my DRebel I thought I had a great price... about $250 less than everyone else!! Ordered it and they required that I call to confirm my order. He starts trying to sell me batteries and charger, strap, software, etc... I said "It comes with all of that" and he said "No at this price you only get the camera and lens, nothing else, the whole kit is $999.00" which was what everyone else had it for!! Great deal if you wanted another one for a backup and had all the rest already but it would have been nice if they would have advertised it that way!!

Bruce Hamilton
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 10:17
...just another website front end for Broadway or Hotbuys...

I can't speak for Broadway, but I've done business w/Hotbuys via Ebay, and I very promptly received the lens I purchased.

RichardtheSane
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 10:27
Havn't got a clue about the camera deal, seems suspect though.

but... the price of their CF cards!!! :shock: and $99 for what is clearly a clone bp511 :shock: :shock:

Scottes
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 11:32
but... the price of their CF cards!!! and $99 for what is clearly a clone bp511

Aaaahhh... So they offer you the cheap camera and stock you up with expensive accessories... Standard scam trick.

CyberDyneSystems
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 11:59
...just another website front end for Broadway or Hotbuys...

I can't speak for Broadway, but I've done business w/Hotbuys via Ebay, and I very promptly received the lens I purchased.

Lucky :)

HotBuys is exactly the company that ripped me off to the tune of an entire lens. (see,.. i speak from experience) My case is pending. It's been over a year. Unfortunately the AG's office has bigger fish to fry and has no interest in any type of enforcement on these businesses.. which is all the more reason not to trust the locality itself. There is virtually no law enforcement.

Say hi to Saul for me next time you call :)

My expierience is by no means "unique" (hint,.. another one to avoid)

http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1938.html

eric1
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 15:41
DReb,
i'm in the same boat, i want one too. as the other guys said, going to Brooklyn is very risky. save a litttle more and get one from a reputable dealer. you'll be glad you did if you ever have a problem and need service!

Longwatcher
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 15:58
bhphoto better be worthy, I need a camera by Friday afternoon...amazon says 1-2 days to ship out for a 7n, but if i pay $80 more it will shop out right away...thats sicls

BHphotovideo can be trusted, but they are in Manhattan, not Crooklyn.
I order from them a lot. In fact I use them to judge other sites prices by.
If it is within 10% of B+H then the odds are good it may be legit, but if it is lower by more then 10% then it is suspect.

Just my opinion,

rsnadel
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 16:25
If the price looks too good to be true, it probably is.

Make sure you ask whether that price includes all the items that normally come in a standard Canon camera kit-- battery, strap, cable, manuals, software CD, warranty. More often than not, the price gets you the bare camera and the opportunity to BUY the items that were taken from the standard packaging that's included when you go to reputable dealers.

RikWriter
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 16:45
If the price looks too good to be true, it probably is.

Make sure you ask whether that price includes all the items that normally come in a standard Canon camera kit-- battery, strap, cable, manuals, software CD, warranty. More often than not, the price gets you the bare camera and the opportunity to BUY the items that were taken from the standard packaging that's included when you go to reputable dealers.

I called them and the guy on the phone said the camera included everything in the box, including battery, cables, and software.

rsnadel
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 17:10
Did he mention the US warranty?

RikWriter
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 17:56
Did he mention the US warranty?

I didn't ask. At that price, I didn't expect there to be one.

DReb-MO
14th of July 2004 (Wed), 19:49
I called them three times over the course of the day today to inquire about the availability of the 10D and various other questions. Each time I called I got differing answers to my questions. The worst was the questions about whether the camera was USA or Gray? Two Grays and one USA. Shipping varied to the same destination from 6% of total cost to 10% to $30. Overnight costs varied as well. On one occasion I asked if I could come into the store and pick it up. "Uh, please hold". Click. Lost the call. Indeed, I will stay away from Crooklyn. Thanks all...