PDA

View Full Version : Lack of sharpness

StarJack
18th of September 2007 (Tue), 17:02
I'm an amateur with little knowledge and I'm not concerned with the composition at this point, just the lack of clarity and color. I took several shots this afternoon with my new 40D and I am disappointed in the lack of sharpness in all of them. No color pop either.

This one in particular is less sharp than I thought it would be. Here you you can see my focus point:

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1204/1403027073_3bdfddd4a8_b.jpg

And here the original jpg

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1298/1403922716_5fe0f902e9_o.jpg

Any thoughts on what settings I should lean towards for increased sharpness?

rammy
18th of September 2007 (Tue), 18:50
1/250 at F/8 with a 31mm FL should have given you decent sharpness.

You don't have the "EF-S17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM" listed in your sig, but EXIF shows you used this lens. Ah, hold on, your sig shows the 18-55 :-) change it. I don't know how sharp this lens is but F/8 at that speed should be close to the sweet spot. Maybe someone with this lens can comment...?

Regarding "pop", shooting mid-afternoon in southern USA does not help because the sun is still pretty high in the sky so you get contrast issues.

StarJack
18th of September 2007 (Tue), 19:08
Thanks rammy for the sig catch. ;) I don't have a lot of photos with that lens yet, but from what I've seen so far I'm disappointed. But I'm acutely aware of my lack of skill, so I thought I'd start looking at specific photos and their settings and see what I could improve. Thank for your comments.

RedHot
18th of September 2007 (Tue), 22:16
It looks like your image is very front focused. The stones before the asphalt appear to be in good sharpness especially when proper sharpening is applied to the original image.

There is also a slight bit of lateral movement of the tracktor which makes the person blurry and you can see it in the rotational movement of the tires.