PDA

View Full Version : 1st and only wedding

TessSummer
27th of September 2007 (Thu), 14:57
Hi, I am new to this board but I have been reading alot here and at other forums.
Here is my situation....I was asked by the bride and groom to take pictures at their wedding. Long storry short but there are some missing parents issues and not much money.
They told me they hired a professional to take, what they feel, are the important shots...bride, bride goom, wedding party. Basically I think it consisted of 12 pictures the pro would take.
I told them no, I am not a professoinal. I have taken senior pictures for my neice, which turned out good but I do not know enough about my camera, ect to do a wedding or anything else.
Well, I was asked again and again and finally agreed since I figured they would have some professional pics and the rest I could possibly get some good pics.
Well..the end of last month I asked the bride and groom who the professional photograher is and they told me "you"!!!!!! Come to find out that they decided I could do it all...when were they going to tell me???!!!!
I of course told them over and over again that I am not a professional and if a few pics turn out they would be lucky. They said, "that's okay, you will do fine".
So, after throwing up a few times here and there thinking about this, I have been reading, reading, practicing ect....
What I need to know is alot but for starters....tips on shooting in church without flash/which mode and if what I have as far as lenses will work for me.

Canon Digital Rebel XT
Canon 50 mm f/1.8 II
Canon 135 mm f 2.8
Kit lens-which I am leaving home
430EX flash
Tripod
Remote release
Two batteries for the XT
Three CF cards - 4+ gig all together

Thanks for any tips and suggestions. BTY the wedding is in three weeks.

TessSummer
27th of September 2007 (Thu), 15:15
Okay, which mode do you use in a church setting when you cannot use flash.

ironchef31
27th of September 2007 (Thu), 15:16
Have a look at these sites.