View Full Version : 5D on the way out
PixAir
11th of October 2007 (Thu), 11:13
The 5D is got to be on the way out and soon too! The price has dropped to $1299 at a lot of places like:
http://www.expresscameras.com/prodetails.asp?prodid=420564
If this isn't the handwriting on the wall, I don't know what is. Sometimes I wish Canon could be like Nikon and announce 5 months to a year before they ship! (not really)
Does anyone have any more information?
tuan209
11th of October 2007 (Thu), 11:18
The vendor is likely a fraud, and a quick look at resellerratings.com should confirm it.
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Express_Cameras
PixAir
11th of October 2007 (Thu), 11:22
I got 3 different vendors selling it @ $1299 from an Internet search.
tuan209
11th of October 2007 (Thu), 11:39
I got 3 different vendors selling it @ $1299 from an Internet search.
Yea, and they are all likely fraud vendors. The best way is to go to resellerratings.com and check. A good gauge for a fair price is to go to BH or Amazon and check their prices.
jkoc
11th of October 2007 (Thu), 11:56
TOTAL FRAUD. SHADY. Just call them and you'll know.
PixAir
11th of October 2007 (Thu), 12:04
So right! Express Photo... I read the reviews. Whoa! I'm surprised Tony Soprano hasn't been called to put a contract out on these guys; there are certainly enough incredibly pissed off people, that, judging by how severely they were ****ed, would certainly have considered it.
wernersl
11th of October 2007 (Thu), 13:14
;)ive got a 5d you can have for 1299! of course it may not make its way into the box before i put the box in the mail! ;)
AviP
11th of October 2007 (Thu), 16:02
I've got another 5D in the mail. And to save you some money, I'll ship it USPS Parcel post. Don't worry it's not insured but you will get it within 2 weeks to never. :lol:
You can't be faulted though. This was your first post.
Seriously, most of these "cheap" resellers use bait-and-switch marketing techniques. They will sell you what you don't want by making it look like a deal. Ever seen one of those electronic shops lining Times Square. These are the internet equivalents and in some cases, they are the same. Good luck!
shannyD
11th of October 2007 (Thu), 16:26
that vendor is a joke.. but if you have not noticed. the price of the 5d kit has gone down by nearly 500 dollars on B&H. that includes the 24-105L lens, a 4GB card, and the body. and its only $ 3,073.95.
that is crazy. i would suspect that price drop as a bigger indicator.
shannon
Jon_Doh
11th of October 2007 (Thu), 21:49
Refurbs are selling for 2 grand on Ebay and the price for new ones from reliable vendors are still in the 2200-2300 range.
wernersl
12th of October 2007 (Fri), 00:10
my mother once told me...if it sounds too good to be true, then it probably is.
alexwise
13th of October 2007 (Sat), 07:35
With a new body eventually coming out what can we realistic price drop wise when the new body does come out? I'm considering getting a 5D but am holding off to see what the mk II has to offer and also in the hope that the 5D will come down a bit more and I can save a couple of hundred maybe.
SuzyView
13th of October 2007 (Sat), 07:48
I think you have to look at the 1DsMKIII that is coming out in Nov. The price of the 1DsMKII is still $6999 on B&H and won't go down much until about a year. I'd just sit and wait to see if Canon comes up with USA rebates again, but if you are in a hurry, a used 5D is around $1800.
th256
13th of October 2007 (Sat), 14:43
don't think it will drop bellow $2200 for another 3 months
ezzet001
16th of October 2007 (Tue), 11:04
I have spent solid 2 days investigating the proie of a 5D. True some sites offer it for 1299 with accessories included. But when I placed an order thinking the price must have come down, the vendor warned me that the 5D on offer is not the regular Japanese with the magnisum-alloy body, rather it is a Chinese version with some plastic components. I am still looking around for the Japanese version with a price below $2000, but was not successful. I believe the Japanese version has the manufacturer # 0296B002. This would be the criterion for proice.
bbbig
16th of October 2007 (Tue), 13:18
I have spent solid 2 days investigating the proie of a 5D. True some sites offer it for 1299 with accessories included. But when I placed an order thinking the price must have come down, the vendor warned me that the 5D on offer is not the regular Japanese with the magnisum-alloy body, rather it is a Chinese version with some plastic components. I am still looking around for the Japanese version with a price below $2000, but was not successful. I believe the Japanese version has the manufacturer # 0296B002. This would be the criterion for proice.
There is no such thing as a Chinese version Canon bodies... you should ask the guy to sell you the Chinese version!
wernersl
16th of October 2007 (Tue), 14:28
well i have the russian version! 5d sputnik
th256
17th of October 2007 (Wed), 01:51
I don't care where it's made so I got interested and
I contacted canon: They don't have 2 versions of the 5D
wernersl
17th of October 2007 (Wed), 09:15
didnt think so
Palladium
17th of October 2007 (Wed), 09:28
I hate to bump this thread but I have got to question - Is the original poster promoting that site? :rolleyes:
mdm
17th of October 2007 (Wed), 09:40
my mother once told me...if it sounds too good to be true, then it probably is.
"Looks like your momma's wrong again" The Waterboy :):):)
wernersl
18th of October 2007 (Thu), 11:13
"Looks like your momma's wrong again" The Waterboy :):):)
mama's right, MAMA'S RIGHT. :evil:(ATTACKING, Tackle and crash):twisted:
wernersl
18th of October 2007 (Thu), 11:14
I hate to bump this thread but I have got to question - Is the original poster promoting that site? :rolleyes:
Must be the owner. :rolleyes:
mdm
18th of October 2007 (Thu), 15:36
mama's right, MAMA'S RIGHT. :evil:(ATTACKING, Tackle and crash):twisted:
That's funny. I think he called him Colonel Sanders. I need to watch that show again.:):):)
wernersl
18th of October 2007 (Thu), 16:15
That's funny. I think he called him Colonel Sanders. I need to watch that show again.:):):)
oh yea...he said youre wrong col sanders, mamas right, mamas right!
miglo
22nd of October 2007 (Mon), 14:58
If you do more research, you will find many of these fraud vendors are actually THE SAME FRAUD vendor with a different name.
Always check yer prices with BH and remember, if its too good to be true...
Uhland
22nd of October 2007 (Mon), 22:09
http://www.soundboard.com/sb/waterboy.aspx
#29
Mr. Coach Cline said I could
oh yea...he said youre wrong col sanders, mamas right, mamas right!
wernersl
22nd of October 2007 (Mon), 23:02
http://www.soundboard.com/sb/waterboy.aspx
#29
Mr. Coach Cline said I could
hahaha...good one
mdm
23rd of October 2007 (Tue), 07:41
I love it. Thanks.
rang
8th of November 2007 (Thu), 15:02
So right! Express Photo... I read the reviews. Whoa! I'm surprised Tony Soprano hasn't been called to put a contract out on these guys; there are certainly enough incredibly pissed off people, that, judging by how severely they were ****ed, would certainly have considered it.
Now, ...why would da Tone whack his own boys? eh?
Now dat the show biz is off...youse gotta make da dough somehowz right?
And, ...hey deez photo guys...you know theyre big suckers. They'll believe anyting you say.
You say ta dem..."Loook it don't come wit no battery and it don't come wit no memory ting. So youze gotta buy dat stuff...and we got a deal fuh you. Youse can't live wit out it man."
"Wha? You think you don't need da stuff...hey lemme check...
Oh yeeeaahhhh...I jus checked the computa it seaz da camera you want is on back orda" (in the back ground you hear ..."ain't dat rite Pauli???" laughing.
"Hey...hello...you still deah? Hello??? Smart _ss hung up on me"
"Hey wait a minute...da writas...They strikkin...that means re-runs. Yo, were back in da show biz man...residuals. Yeah!".
"Time ta change the company name again"
"Hah! Suckkas"
;)
wernersl
9th of November 2007 (Fri), 09:15
:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:
davidwegs
15th of November 2007 (Thu), 12:28
It can be had for about 2k from reputable dealers now, and yes its dropping.
Express is a lame excuse for a company of any kind and that is at the most generous one can hope to say of them :)
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.