PDA

View Full Version : There's got to be a catch? A & M Photo ? New 10D for $68


Sailare
8th of August 2004 (Sun), 09:05
I saw a full page ad in Photography magazine, which lead me to their web site.

I have never heard of them and they do not show up on bizrate.

A new 10D for $ 689 ?? Anyone got an idea what the hook is?

Makes no sense to me, but it has my attention for a couple of minutes anyway.

What do you think? No stock? Wait forever? Big time upsell?

Is this one of those all "red" low priced sites that has renamed itself?

boone
8th of August 2004 (Sun), 09:08
This stuff is always too good to be true.

http://69.93.248.132/seller1988.html

check resellerratings.com on all these companies with 'deals'.

WestFalcon
8th of August 2004 (Sun), 09:09
They are crooks from Brooklyn...check resellerratings.com
Don't even waste your energy on them!

robertwgross
8th of August 2004 (Sun), 09:15
I will guess "big time upsell," followed by "charge your credit card early," followed by "wait forever," and finishing with "no stock." However, I am sure that deep down they are fine human beings.

Maybe not.

---Bob Gross---

Sailare
8th of August 2004 (Sun), 09:41
thanks for the Reseller rating link - good stuff.

Well said Bob ! No doubt its very true.

rsnadel
8th of August 2004 (Sun), 12:02
The "catch" actually tends to be several catches, depending on which retailer you end up with:

* You'll pay extra for kit items such as battery, strap, etc. that come automatically when you buy elsewhere
* You'll pay exhorbitant shipping charge
* You'll be hounded to buy additional items such as spare batteries, flash cards, etc., all at inflated prices
* Camera may or may not be in stock
* You should ask whether the camera comes with a USA warranty

Sailare
8th of August 2004 (Sun), 15:35
In Popular Photography - August issue, page 119 A& M Photo World is advertizing the 10D at $ 869.99. On the Web site it's $ 689.00

Looks like at transposition of digits error on the web site.

rsnadel
8th of August 2004 (Sun), 17:52
Doesn't change the realities of what happens when you try to buy from them. The old adage, "if it seems to good to be true" should not be forgotten.

defordphoto
8th of August 2004 (Sun), 18:28
Here is A&M's "storefront".

http://www.donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/0049.jpg

For the full Brooklyn tour, go here: http://www.panix.com/~donwiss/pictures/BrooklynStores/[/img]