View Full Version : ever got one of those
DozerLYP
30th of October 2007 (Tue), 12:59
i just received this email, and i dodn't order anything from them, or any body else. and this is for a manual for some PDA. pretty steep for a book...
i went to my paypal account and nothing was there.
but when you click the "dispute transaction" it send me here. http://globida.com/pps/ppss/uncofirmedbyuser/init.htm witch look to me like a fake paypal page. beware of this scam. you should not put your information on that page...
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n56/dozerlyp/Untitled-3-7.jpg
hitmanh
30th of October 2007 (Tue), 13:03
Yeah, they hope you will panic, click the Dispute Transaction, and use your login details... scamming barstewards...
WorkingClassHero
30th of October 2007 (Tue), 13:04
It's a phishing scam. They're looking for you to click on "Dispute Transaction", then you'll be redirected to a bogus Paypal site where you'll be asked for your user ID and password, and bingo! You've just given them access to your account.
If you hold your cursor above the button, you'll see the bogus site name in the status bar at the bottom of your browser.
Report it to Paypal.
DozerLYP
30th of October 2007 (Tue), 13:22
i clicked and went to their page and enter a bogus email and password, then on the next page they ask me for all my information. name, address, SSN and credit card number. i sent an email to paypal and we'll see what they'll do about it...
BigBlueDodge
30th of October 2007 (Tue), 18:48
Interesting. I did a domain look up for the "globida.com" domain that the links are sending you to, and found that the domain is registered to someone in Israel, and that the domain is hosted on GoDaddy. Paypal is located in San Jose CA.
danny mendel
rival 26
tel aviv, israel 67778
Israel
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: GLOBIDA.COM
Created on: 07-Nov-06
Expires on: 07-Nov-08
Last Updated on: 07-Sep-07
Administrative Contact:
mendel, danny dannymendelmn@gmail.com
rival 26
tel aviv, israel 67778
Israel
97236879095
Technical Contact:
mendel, danny dannymendelmn@gmail.com
rival 26
tel aviv, israel 67778
Israel
97236879095
Domain servers in listed order:
NS.BARAK.NET.IL
NS1.BARAK.NET.IL
the_incubus
30th of October 2007 (Tue), 18:55
^^^psh, typical, blaming everything on us jews :D
damn Dozer youve been hit with alot of scams lately.
DozerLYP
30th of October 2007 (Tue), 21:39
i know, I should declare this day to "lets try to scam Dozer day"
DozerLYP
31st of October 2007 (Wed), 00:37
Paypal replied:
Dear Claude
Thank you for bringing this incident of suspicious activity to our
attention. PayPal will investigate this activity immediately and contact
you further if any additional information is required. We appreciate
your concern and thank you for making PayPal the most trusted online
payment service.
Sincerely,
PayPal, Inc.
thomascanty
31st of October 2007 (Wed), 05:19
Dozer, you really need to invest in a good spam filter for your email... ;)
Pete
31st of October 2007 (Wed), 07:16
A bit ironic that the Zip code takes you right to the centre of Mt Carmel cemetary...
Spooky halloween scamming...!
DozerLYP
31st of October 2007 (Wed), 13:30
A bit ironic that the Zip code takes you right to the centre of Mt Carmel cemetary...
Spooky halloween scamming...!
haha, i didn't notice this, that's just too funny...
3Turner
2nd of November 2007 (Fri), 01:49
:lol: Tried to click on the link for the re-direct for the 'Dispute Transaction' you put up in your first post Dozer, and I got this result.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.