View Full Version : 1DmII for $2,679.00 ???
kahfluie
24th of August 2004 (Tue), 16:52
Could this be possible? Has anyone dealt with this company (A&M Photoworld) before? They also sell the 10 for only $849 and the rebel kit for $449. I'd like to get another 10D but... I dunno something about this price that just makes me wanna shake my head.
Here's the site
http://www.amphotoworld.com
ron chappel
24th of August 2004 (Tue), 17:08
http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&q=%22A%26M+photo+world%22&btnG=Google+Search&met a=
Looks like an "avoid at all costs" place
Even looking at the few words that come up for each search result look scary!
Belmondo
24th of August 2004 (Tue), 18:17
http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1988.html
This is about as bad as it gets.
Danger! Danger! Danger, Will Robinson!
roanjohn
24th of August 2004 (Tue), 18:40
If its too good to be true...........
Ro1
cmM
24th of August 2004 (Tue), 20:20
if those scores would be true.... I'd buy a couple 1Ds's for $3,829.00 and sell them on e-bay to make enough money to buy a MkII
ssim
24th of August 2004 (Tue), 20:35
WOW... 21 pages of purchasers horror stories on reseller ratings. That's about as bad as I've seen.
BDM
24th of August 2004 (Tue), 21:53
Could this be possible? Has anyone dealt with this company (A&M Photoworld) before? They also sell the 10 for only $849 and the rebel kit for $449. I'd like to get another 10D but... I dunno something about this price that just makes me wanna shake my head.
Here's the site
http://www.amphotoworld.com
There has been a mountain of very bad reports about this company. I would avoid them. As is usual, if the deal sounds too good - - it probably is. You just don't get something for nothing. Stick with the established dealers, pay a reasonable price and be safe.
Bruce
evilenglishman
25th of August 2004 (Wed), 03:16
on the topic of this (but slightly off topic) could someone tell dpreview to put the proper price on their 1D MKII
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/specs/Canon/canon_eos1dmkii.asp
DirtyHarry
25th of August 2004 (Wed), 03:57
Could this be possible? Has anyone dealt with this company (A&M Photoworld) before? They also sell the 10 for only $849 and the rebel kit for $449. I'd like to get another 10D but... I dunno something about this price that just makes me wanna shake my head.
Here's the site
http://www.amphotoworld.com
There has been a mountain of very bad reports about this company. I would avoid them. As is usual, if the deal sounds too good - - it probably is. You just don't get something for nothing. Stick with the established dealers, pay a reasonable price and be safe.
Bruce
yeah but this place has to be legit right? Like its a website like all others selling cameras and gear? If not isnt there a special department to deal with such websites? Anyway there has to be some customers that have had there deliveries right?
rsnadel
25th of August 2004 (Wed), 09:06
yeah but this place has to be legit right?
Yes...the business does exist. But often they don't operate like legit online retailers. Examples of the kinds of things that occur when buying from shady dealers:
* when you order a camera from them, more often than not they will sell you ONLY the camera, and require that other items that come standard in the kit when you buy elsewhere (battery, charger, etc.) be purchased separately at inflated prices
* you must pay exhorbitant shipping costs
* you find yourself with a camera that does not come with a Canon USA warranty
* your camera may not be brand new
* your credit card is charged long before the item is shipped
* you get hounded mercilessly to buy additional items that you may or may not need (lens, filter, strap, CF cards) at inflated prices...or sometimes as a requirement to get the lower camera price
I'm not saying this retailer does any or all of those things. But many of the shoddy ones do.
Andy_T
25th of August 2004 (Wed), 09:15
I'm not saying this retailer does any or all of those things.
But the people who provided the feedback for this fine retailer on resellerratings.com described exactly these practices and others :wink:
Best regards,
Andy
photomd
25th of August 2004 (Wed), 09:18
Run away.....http://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung0304/sport/sport-smiley-009.gif
This place scares me. I've called them to price things and as I started getting into the details of the order, the salesman became more and more pushy. I just couldn't go through with the order and feel good about it.
Tom W
25th of August 2004 (Wed), 10:24
Even before the internet, AMphotoworld was one of the shady ones, along with Abe's of Maine and a few others. There's a handfull of these shops that are the same retailer, but advertize under different names.
That said, if the 1D Mk II were that inexpensive, I'd have it.
Sketcher
25th of August 2004 (Wed), 11:12
On top of the warnings from the above mentions; the best price I've personally been able to sleuth from a solid source for a 1DMKII is $3919.00. Anything that blows that price out of the water IMO is too good to be true.
kahfluie
25th of August 2004 (Wed), 19:04
well so much for my hope for another 10D at a cheap price lol. Had a feeling it wasn't a place to go to.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.