View Full Version : Need Advise
phili1
27th of August 2004 (Fri), 04:25
I am about to purchase a Canon 10D and the seller wants to use a company called www.secured-mail.net. I have never heard of them has anyone had any experience or knowledge of them.
Belmondo
27th of August 2004 (Fri), 07:46
Maybe you want to change the title of this thread to something like...
"Has Anyone Heard of Secured-Mail.Net"?
Thre might be people out there who have, but who otherwise don't feel like giving opinions. It's always good to try give some idea of the topic in the tiltle.
Good luck.
phili1
27th of August 2004 (Fri), 07:52
Thanks I did what you suggested.
Cadwell
27th of August 2004 (Fri), 08:00
No experience with them nor have I heard of them but I just looked at their web site and I am not impressed.
http://secured-mail.net/
The grammar and spelling is appalling. That is often a hallmark of unreliable/scam companies as reputable businesses tend to take the trouble to get their web sites right.
Based on that alone, I would avoid them.
Ikinaa
27th of August 2004 (Fri), 08:03
on the following site
http://www.wholesale411.com/bbs/viewtopic.php?t=11044&start=0
there is a what seems pretty extensive list of fraud escrow services, and the one you mention is on their list...
Now what's this list worth, I don't know, but if they are on any list, I'd doublecheck.
Scottes
27th of August 2004 (Fri), 08:45
Domain name: secured-mail.net
Registrant:
Andrew Ackermas (4BV4H) sell_4_you@hotmail.com
Secured Mail
4205 Morgan Circle
Ellettsville, IN 47429
United States
Phone: (812)7568968 x
Record last updated on 2004-02-09 00:00:00
Record created on 2004-02-09 00:00:00 <<<<<<<<<<<<,
Record expires on 2005-02-09 00:00:00
1) They say they've been in business since 1999, yet the domain was created 6 months ago.
2) The telephone number is not a working number. I got a recording saying such.
3) The domain Registrants email address is a HotMail account - and note the name "sell_4_you"
4) A Google search yields only 1 hit - the list that Ikinaa posted. That's not a good sign.
5) They're listed on a list of known fraud sites (Ikinaa's list).
Smells like a scam outfit to me.
Sketcher
27th of August 2004 (Fri), 10:47
from the other thread of same inquiry:
Ikinaa's reference is a good one (to the fraud listings).
Much wrong with the Secured Mail page and statements. Much wrong with the data they request in order to transact.
Perhaps most telling, is that their main contact telephone number is actually a telephone chat line unrelated to Secured Mail, and their fax number is not fax number at all but a main number of a completely different company who is growing more pissed off w/each irrelevant call they get. Apparently, they expected the number they bought to actually be useful for their business. Go figure.
Don't touch this place with ANY kind of pole.
Scottes dug up some good information.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.