PDA

View Full Version : Photographing people......

treeduck6
2nd of September 2004 (Thu), 19:04
I have a friend who would like me to take some photos of her both indoors and outdoors. Most likely portrait or Glamour type photos.
I have little to no experience in this area (I mentioned that several times but she is still willing to try) I am looking for any helpful hints to make this a painless operation.
A little background - I mostly shoot Landscapes, wildlife and aircraft. I have very little experience photographing people.
I will be using a Canon 10D w/ a 28-70 2.8 lens, 75 -300 4-5.6is. and and a 550EX flash.
Again any advise would be appreciated -lighting, filters, exposure etc.
Thank you

robertwgross
2nd of September 2004 (Thu), 19:37
The key is in getting rid of any major shadows.

---Bob Gross---

Belmondo
2nd of September 2004 (Thu), 19:39

---Bob Gross---

That really is it in a nutshell, isn't it. :idea:

robertwgross
2nd of September 2004 (Thu), 19:43
Portrait photographers argue about putting the key light here and putting the key light there, using a 2:1 ratio, using a 3:1 ratio, facing right, facing left, chin up, chin down, putting the hair light on the same side as the key light, putting it ...

All of those arguments are defendable, and on any given day, each one will work. However, if you have harsh shadows, it tends to be awkward.

A few really artsy shots can use harsh shadows. But for the rest of us mere mortals, it doesn't.

---Bob Gross---

stopbath
3rd of September 2004 (Fri), 12:26

---Bob Gross---
Perhaps the key is getting the light and shadows to work with the subject. (soft lighting, strong lighting, light shadows, harsh shadows....)

NILOLIGIST
4th of September 2004 (Sat), 00:02
I would use a small reflector and a light meter if possible. You want to get the best exposure possible. Also, watch your background carefully, you don't want a busy background.