PDA

View Full Version : Calulating Optical Zoom of DSLR Lens

mangaloreaviators
30th of December 2007 (Sun), 17:04
Hello Canonians !!

I'm a newbie to the World of Photography and learning Photography with my new Canon EOS 400D. One questions which is always bothered me when going through the specification of DSLR and DSLR Type Camera is that of Optical Zoom.

I have a 18-55MM IS Lens and would like to know if somebody can let me know how much of Optical Zoom it has.

Probably how to calculate the Optical Zoom of DSLR Lens would be great.

Q. How many X Optical Zoom does a Canon 17-85 MM Lens has ? How do you calculate ?

wimg
30th of December 2007 (Sun), 17:09
That's easy. The largest FL (focal length) divided by the smallest one.

So an 18-55 has 3X zoom (55/18 ) and a 17-88 has 5X zoom (85/17).

HTH, kind regards, Wim

deadpass
30th of December 2007 (Sun), 17:09
basically take the longer end (55mm) and divide it by the short end (18) so you get right at 3x "optical zoom"

or 85/17=5x

Now that's not completely completely comparable to point and shoots and really the only people that seemed concerned with optical zoom factors either still use a point and shoot or just came from using them. Which is fine, but with a bit of use you'll know how wide 18mm is on your camera or how long 300mm is.

ANGUS
30th of December 2007 (Sun), 17:10
on a 1.6 Crop camera like your 400D it has an Optical Zoom of 27.2-136

mangaloreaviators
30th of December 2007 (Sun), 17:27
Thank you very much everybody. Simple Maths :)

I'm very happy that I found solution for my questions.

Regards
`Ravi

mangaloreaviators
30th of December 2007 (Sun), 17:38
Hello Canonians!!

Correct me if I'm wrong

Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM (ultra wide angle zoom lens) = 5X Zoom
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM (wide angle zoom lens) = 105/24 =5X Zoom
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4.0 L USM (ultra wide angle zoom lens) = 3X

ANGUS
30th of December 2007 (Sun), 17:41