PDA

View Full Version : too good to be true?


Noah
9th of October 2004 (Sat), 17:48
I know a lot of you guys say that if a deal is too good to be true then it probably is a scam. I just wanted to run this by you and see what some of you thought. I am looking into getting a Canon 10D but want to spend the least amount of money as possible of course like anyone else. Please tell me what you think. Thanks in advance to all.

TCS Camera
http://store.yahoo.com/yhst-1598293181133/eos10d.html

The Camera Source
http://www.thecamerassource.com/viewitem.php?IndexID=3029&RefTag=shopcart

-Noah

WestFalcon
9th of October 2004 (Sat), 18:07
Both are in Brooklyn...often called "Crooklyn" on the forum. They seem to have more than their share of internet crooks....I'd stay a mile away from both. I didn't check their reseller rating but if I were a betting man, I would say its below 5 on a scale of 10. You can get a 10D for about $1000 in many places now and still sleep at night. Good luck.

Ogrt48
9th of October 2004 (Sat), 19:22
http://www.resellerratings.com/seller5028.html <--- thecamerassource... in short STAY AWAY.

I can't even find info on the other store.. I say no though :P

shiningstardv
10th of October 2004 (Sun), 01:07
I think the saying that applies to this situation is:

"If it looks too good to be true, it usually is."

waynejgilbert
10th of October 2004 (Sun), 09:34
Being a *Crooklyn* resident I offer you this advice if it's too good... well you know the rest... Good Luck 10D hunting :)

FYI Not *all* scammers come from Brooklyn!

WestFalcon
10th of October 2004 (Sun), 12:24
Sorry Waynejgilbert, that's why I said they(Brooklyn) have more than their share of scammers. I tried not to say that everyone in Brooklyn is crooked...thus my apology if you were offended. I don't however apologize to the crooks and scammers from Brooklyn.

stoneylonesome
10th of October 2004 (Sun), 13:46
They don't look to reliable to me

the camera source only has 2 reviews
http://www.resellerratings.com/seller5028.html

and the other one only has 1, they probably wrote that themselfs
I myself would stay away

Persian-Rice
10th of October 2004 (Sun), 17:00
I would not trust them, but hey, if you really want, you can find a used body in mint condition for about that much.

I'm going to pickup a body+ grip tomorrow. It has 1500 actuations, even still has store warranty and I got it for $900 so minus the grip thats about 750-770.

Cheers

RogCincy
11th of October 2004 (Mon), 05:48
When I first ordered my 10D I got a call confirming the order. Thought that was pretty cool.....until..... I was asked if I wanted a battery, charger, manual, software, etc.... Basically they were selling just the 10D...nothing else... by the time you got everything you needed it would have been the same as buying the body at 'normal' price. So I cancelled the order and went with B&H.........

So like everyone else has said...........if it's too good.............

stoneylonesome
11th of October 2004 (Mon), 06:01
When I first ordered my 10D I got a call confirming the order. Thought that was pretty cool.....until..... I was asked if I wanted a battery, charger, manual, software, etc.... Basically they were selling just the 10D...nothing else... by the time you got everything you needed it would have been the same as buying the body at 'normal' price. So I cancelled the order and went with B&H.........

So like everyone else has said...........if it's too good.............

Exactly why I went with B&H, they have a good rating and are very reliable. I did notice that buydig.com which also has a good rating was about $60 less but there shipping dates were longer and B&H had a little better deal on the lens I bought. So B&H for the 10D it was. Bottom line is if you see a NEW 10D in the states for under $1100 be leary of the dealer. You may not be getting everything you are supposed, like battery, etc.

abel
11th of October 2004 (Mon), 06:26
it would be best to spen 100-200 more on a reputable dealer and not a shady one..

i had the best price on my 10d from buydig.com , check pricegrabber.com and see what the prices are going for...

RogCincy
11th of October 2004 (Mon), 09:19
it would be best to spen 100-200 more on a reputable dealer and not a shady one..

i had the best price on my 10d from buydig.com , check pricegrabber.com and see what the prices are going for...

another good site is nextag.com to check for pricing..........