PDA

View Full Version : Macro Lens Advice

Dork Knight
6th of March 2008 (Thu), 02:54
Hello All,

I'm considering a Macro Lens purchase next week, although this may not happen as there's a possibility I will lose my job, but if not (hopefully not) I would like to purchase something like the Canon EF 100mm Macro or the Sigma 150mm Macro.

The lens will be used with my 400D/XTi and they are both around the same sort of price at the moment (40 difference), however, Canon are also offering 40 Cashback on the lens so this would bring the difference to around the 80 area.

As I see it:

Canon is lighter by nearly 300g,
Canon has a shorter focusing distance of nearly eight centimetres

Sigma is 150mm over Canons 100mm,
Sigma comes with a hood and tripod ring

I've only had a brief attempt at macro, which I enjoyed, using my fathers EF-S 60mm - So I have very little knowledge about this stuff.

A couple of questions if people have the time;

1. If people have owned both which do you prefer and why?
2. Hand held macro work, how successful would this be with the heavier Sigma (or even if this would be possible/successful with the Canon)?
3. Would the Canon Macro Lites fit the Sigma?
4. Any thoughts, whatever they may be on these two lenses?

Thank You,

Jason

SurplusCorn
6th of March 2008 (Thu), 06:51
I have the Canon, and I absolutely love it. Hand-holding is difficult as it is with macro shots, so having a heavier lens would make it that much more difficult. The quality on the Canon is nearly 'L' quality as well, though I don't have any experience with the Sigma. Not getting the hood and ring is unfortunate, but not a deal breaker IMO. The hood was only €30 for me, and I just use my tripod as normal when I have it mounted; I don't worry too much about the ring.

steved110
6th of March 2008 (Thu), 07:36
I've just bought myself a 100mm macro, i chose the Canon one, and I am delighted with it. I rented one recently to test it out, and was pleased so decided to spring for it.