PDA

View Full Version : 300f4 IS w/2x Canon extender


NZDoug
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 03:42
I would really like a 600 f4 but wife would leave.
Im considering a 300 f4 IS lens and a Canon 2x extender.
So 600 f8 isnt the end of the world, especially with modern digitals where its difficult to tell the diff bestween asa 100 and asa 400 in image quality.
The times they are a changin.
So is the 300 f4 compatible with the Canon 2x mark 2 extender?
Im sure auto focus will be slower, but does it work.
Is this a decent match?
Any feedback would be appreciated. :D

Cadwell
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 04:49
It will fit so it is compatible in that sense. It won't auto-focus unless you have a 1 Series body.

Lester Wareham
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 04:54
Yes it works very well but there is no AF on a non-pro body, I had to shots with this combination in the POTN Vol1 Book so it can't be too bad. Produces great A3 prints.

There have been a number of questions about this in the past so I am sure a search will pull a lot up. For example here is my previous reply http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showpost.php?p=4887653&postcount=28

foxbat
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 05:18
Will the wife leave if you got the 300 2.8 instead? A bit more than half the price of the 600 and takes a 2x much better.

fotodan
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 06:50
This was shot with the 300 f4 + 2X II... if this helps.

gasrocks
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 09:05
The 300/4 IS takes a 1.4x TC very well but the loss of IQ with a 2x is more than I ever liked. Only used it if I left something else at home and was desperate.

TooManyShots
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 10:57
It works ok. I tend to do a lot of PP work shooting with the 2x extender. Sometimes, you need the reach, and you need the reach.

This Mockingbird was very close and so it may not represent what it is supposed to look like:
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3131/2302552429_ba6c18eb01_o.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/vracing/2302552429/)

This chickadee is an good example. I have to used unsharp mask to sharpen the edge of the bird to give a good object isolation.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3099/2294609671_0a9312beed_o.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/vracing/2294609671/)

logiclee
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 12:06
This is tipping me more towards the 300f/4 IS and away from the 100-400L

Cheers
Lee

TooManyShots
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 12:08
I am saving up for the 300L F2.8....:)

This is tipping me more towards the 300f/4 IS and away from the 100-400L

Cheers
Lee

NZDoug
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 15:05
THX !!! for the comments.
Glenn and Lester - is a 5D a series one body? Will it autofocus?I had a 300 2.8 Tamron manual focus for Nikon for 28 years so non autofus doesnt scare me. :p
Foxbat - if I can make the F4 IS earn its keep, then it can be flicked off and a 300 2.8 can be purchased.
One small step for mine kind. ;)
FotoDan - it works!!! :D
Gasrocks - what the HEY HO is IQ ???
TooManyShots - sweet! :D
LogicLee - Im in the same boat- the 100-400 appears to put out crap images with the 2x.:evil:
TooManyShots - I`ll get there. Some things take a little time and energy and a lot of work.
;)

amfoto1
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 16:09
Hi,

No, a 5D is not a 1-Series body. Those are designated 1V, 1D, etc.

However, you might also consider a 40D, for it's 1.6X "crop" sensor. In a way, it's a "free telecoverter". It also never hurts to have a backup camera.

bobbyz
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 16:28
This is tipping me more towards the 300f/4 IS and away from the 100-400L

Cheers
Lee

Who about this 100-400L with 1.4xTC on 1dmk2

Original file with USM of 300/0.3/2 (show in RAW, converted to jpeg)

http://www.bobbyzphotography.com/img/v3/p101260983-4.jpg

100% crop
http://www.bobbyzphotography.com/img/v3/p534304390.jpg

NZDoug
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 16:50
Hi,

No, a 5D is not a 1-Series body. Those are designated 1V, 1D, etc.

However, you might also consider a 40D, for it's 1.6X "crop" sensor. In a way, it's a "free telecoverter". It also never hurts to have a backup camera.

THX! for your input, Amf.
So the 5D will not autofocus with the 2X converter?
Your reading my mind re : 40D :D
Wold that autofocus with 300 F4 w/2X ???

Roy C
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 16:54
THX! for your input, Amf.
So the 5D will not autofocus with the 2X converter?
Your reading my mind re : 40D :D
Wold that autofocus with 300 F4 w/2X ???
Nope - you need a 1 series body to AF at f8.

NZDoug
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 17:08
THX ! Roy
Would the chirp - beep to confirm focus work in manual focus with the 5D with 300F w/2X ? I need all the help I can get. :rolleyes:

Tareq
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 17:27
I was using AF fine just om my 30D + 300 f2.8 + 2xTC.

shadowcat
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 17:34
A 100-400L with a 2x on a 5D won't auto focus either past 200m fstop gets to high thats my problem if you can drop to a 2.8 lens

TooManyShots
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 18:24
More 300L F4 IS with 2x extender shots today.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2061/2341113813_c4867939d2_o.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/vracing/2341113813/)

Anyone know what birds are these? They were in the middle of the lake and very cautious of people and anything. Thanks.
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3106/2341113875_8891789692_o.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/vracing/2341113875/)

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2078/2341946964_074909c434_o.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/vracing/2341946964/)
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2390/2341113969_7d17b79ed2_o.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/vracing/2341113969/)

NZDoug
17th of March 2008 (Mon), 18:27
Does anybody know if the "in focus" beep works with the 5D w/300F4/2X teleconverter mk2 ?

NZDoug
18th of March 2008 (Tue), 18:24
Does anybody know if the "in focus" beep works with the 5D w/300F4/2X teleconverter mk2 ?
So does anybody know?
Does the beep work on 300F4 IS+2X tele extender mk2 when focusing manually?
Also, is the lens hood a built in slider on the 300 f4 IS?
Im ordering something within 24 hours so an answer would be appreciated. :D

Paul S
18th of March 2008 (Tue), 18:35
If you want 2X TC to AF you will need to go for the 300mm (2.8)

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=41922nt

If you can swing it you won't be sorry :)

NZDoug
18th of March 2008 (Tue), 18:54
THX! for the reply.
what I want to know is.

Does the beep work on 300F4 IS+2X tele extender mk2 when focusing manually?
Also, is the lens hood a built in slider hood on the 300 f4 IS?
:D
This is to be used on a 5D.
Anyone? :cry:

fotodan
18th of March 2008 (Tue), 19:14
THX! for the reply.
what I want to know is.

This is to be used on a 5D.
Anyone? :cry:


Cant help you with the "beep", I never have mine turned on. As far as the hood. It is a slide and turn to lock, turn to unlock and slide back.

NZDoug
18th of March 2008 (Tue), 19:21
THX! fotodan.
If anyone can answer the "beep" thing, it would be nice.

Paul S
18th of March 2008 (Tue), 21:13
THX! fotodan.
If anyone can answer the "beep" thing, it would be nice.


Well lets think about this. If the camera lets you know when its in focus by a beep. why would the AF not work?

Get the 2.8 and be done with it :D

NZDoug
18th of March 2008 (Tue), 21:21
Hi Paul
THX! for your input.
Try reading the posts and your questions will be answered.
Does anyone know if the 300f4 IS with Canon 2X extender "beep" when focusing on a 5D?
This is when the custom function button for a "beep" is on.
Anyone ?

TooManyShots
18th of March 2008 (Tue), 22:11
I really don't think it will beep. On my 30D, once my max aperture reaches to F8, all AF modes are disable.

Hi Paul
THX! for your input.
Try reading the posts and your questions will be answered.
Does anyone know if the 300f4 IS with Canon 2X extender "beep" when focusing on a 5D?
This is when the custom function button for a "beep" is on.
Anyone ?

NZDoug
18th of March 2008 (Tue), 22:46
THX! TooMaanyShots.
Sorry to confuse you.
I meant when focusing manually with a 5D.
This is with a 5d using a 300 f4 IS with Canon 2x extender Mk.2 manual focus, custom function to allow "beep" when in focus.
Does anyone know?

Tareq
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 00:22
THX! TooMaanyShots.
Sorry to confuse you.
I meant when focusing manually with a 5D.
This is with a 5d using a 300 f4 IS with Canon 2x extender Mk.2 manual focus, custom function to allow "beep" when in focus.
Does anyone know?

If you have 300 f4 send it to me and i will check for you with 1.4x and 2x.

NZDoug
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 00:24
I want to order one tomorrow so when I get it come on down and check it out.
Were Al Jeezera viewers...

Tareq
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 00:38
I want to order one tomorrow so when I get it come on down and check it out.
Were Al Jeezera viewers...

Then no need for me to check it, you do it yourself.
300 f4 is a great lens, and even if it will not focus or "Beep" with 1.4x or 2x on 5D that doesn't matter, you can use this lens with or without TC later when you can afford 1-series, i used my 30D with 300 f2.8 and 2x and it focus great and Beeping as well.

NZDoug
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 01:51
KeWeL,
Man. :p
I have access to 3 IdS.Mk.2s
Im just wondering if any of the 140,000 users here can READ.
I know you can,
Come on down! :lol:

Tareq
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 02:02
KeWeL,
Man. :p
I have access to 3 IdS.Mk.2s
Im just wondering if any of the 140,000 users here can READ.
I know you can,
Come on down! :lol:

about 580 viewed this thread anyway, so the 139,420 are away and busy ;)
really i want to understand what is the question here, do you want this lens to Beep on 5D with any TC? simple, buy any car horn and when your press the shutter button press on the car's horn to hear the beep :lol:;)

NZDoug
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 02:16
THX, Tariq,
unfortunately I dont have the 5D to car horn adaptor.
Your still welcome.

Tareq
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 02:43
THX, Tariq,
unfortunately I dont have the 5D to car horn adaptor.
Your still welcome.

I have a friend who i called him very rarely due to his busy works, he got 5d not so long time ago, and he has 300 f4 IS, but i don't think he has any TC yet, so i will check with him and tell you later, but i will recommend you to get 300 f2.8 no doubt, if you can't then buy 300 f4 or 400 f5.6 and use any without TC [400 more used for BIF], and as i said, you will not lose anything to get 300 f4 + TC, i am sure it will focus and beep because i think TC can focus and beep with primes on any body and only beeps with zooms [teles] on 1-series bodies.

Roy C
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 03:01
THX! TooMaanyShots.
Sorry to confuse you.
I meant when focusing manually with a 5D.
This is with a 5d using a 300 f4 IS with Canon 2x extender Mk.2 manual focus, custom function to allow "beep" when in focus.
Does anyone know?
I have not got a 5D but I reckon you would get focus confirmation when you have the camera/lens in manual focus mode. I certainly can with the 30D and 40D when using my 400mm f5.6 with a tc. Just keep the shutter button half depressed and slowly focus the lens - when the lens comes into focus you will get the confirmation light and the beeb (if you have it turned on).

NZDoug
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 03:07
Ladies and germs,
Your input and your reading abilities is appreciated. :D
THX! for your replies,
I will wait for your input,
THEN,
I will order tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!
Both bits.
If you want something done right, you gotta do it yourself...;)

joeseph
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 03:34
for what it's worth (probably very little, but hey: we tried...)
a 20D with a 1.4x TC and a 100-400 reports f8 as wide open, and no focus-beep when manually foccussing. Not even a red box lit up.

NZDoug
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 03:38
WHY YOU LITTLE !
hmmmmmmmmm,
Clearly conceeved ideas etc.....
THx for trying!!!
:lol:

Roy C
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 03:53
for what it's worth (probably very little, but hey: we tried...)
a 20D with a 1.4x TC and a 100-400 reports f8 as wide open, and no focus-beep when manually foccussing. Not even a red box lit up.
That is strange because my 30D and 40D will give a focus confirmation when using a 400mm f5.6 lens and 1.4 tc (reporting as f8 ) Have you switched off AF on the lens?. You have to half depress the shutter button and manually focus the lens - very slowly when you get to the focus point. I get the red box confirmation. I have also got this confirmation with a 2x tc (non reporting) but you have to be very precise when you are near the focus point.

NZDoug
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 05:20
HEY! HO! :p:p:p
That is strange because my 30D and 40D will give a focus confirmation when using a 400mm f5.6 lens and 1.4 tc (reporting as f8 ) Have you switched off AF on the lens?. You have to half depress the shutter button and manually focus the lens - very slowly when you get to the focus point. I get the red box confirmation. I have also got this confirmation with a 2x tc (non reporting) but you have to be very precise when you are near the focus point.
veddy interestin
Always good to know precision counts.
Any other takers? :p
5D impressions would be nice etc.....
Plesse read the hole thin before making everyone go thru "1 mo time!"

joeseph
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 15:21
Have you switched off AF on the lens?. You have to half depress the shutter button and manually focus the lens - very slowly when you get to the focus point.
yes - AF switched off. I'll try it again in bright sunlight later & see what if any difference it makes.

gymell
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 15:26
Even on a 1-series body, only the center AF point would work, and AF is very slow. I've used the 2x on my 500 f/4 with good results on relatively static subjects, haven't tried it on the 300 because I haven't had a need.

Roy C
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 15:30
Even on a 1-series body, only the center AF point would work, and AF is very slow. I've used the 2x on my 500 f/4 with good results on relatively static subjects, haven't tried it on the 300 because I haven't had a need.
We are talking about manual focusing not AF.

gymell
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 15:32
Well that's what I get for not reading the thread closely enough!

NZDoug
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 15:41
Ladies and germs,
THX! for the input.
All replies help.
Im tempted to pull the trigger, not at you guys or myself, the B+H one.:D
Maybe my buddy, Tareq will tine in. I think Ive even spelled his name correctly this time.:o

Tareq
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 17:40
Ladies and germs,
THX! for the input.
All replies help.
Im tempted to pull the trigger, not at you guys or myself, the B+H one.:D
Maybe my buddy, Tareq will tine in. I think Ive even spelled his name correctly this time.:o

Thanks, yes you did, Well Done! ;)

TooManyShots
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 23:17
Strange, I only get the manual focus confirmation if I switch to manual focus when autofocus is still possible. As soon as I put my 2x converter, it won't work at all.

I have not got a 5D but I reckon you would get focus confirmation when you have the camera/lens in manual focus mode. I certainly can with the 30D and 40D when using my 400mm f5.6 with a tc. Just keep the shutter button half depressed and slowly focus the lens - when the lens comes into focus you will get the confirmation light and the beeb (if you have it turned on).

joeseph
19th of March 2008 (Wed), 23:20
That is strange because my 30D and 40D will give a focus confirmation when using a 400mm f5.6 lens and 1.4 tc (reporting as f8 ) Have you switched off AF on the lens?. You have to half depress the shutter button and manually focus the lens - very slowly when you get to the focus point. I get the red box confirmation. I have also got this confirmation with a 2x tc (non reporting) but you have to be very precise when you are near the focus point.
Just tried it again in bright sunshine - still no beep or red box. Not that I really expected it but nice to know anyway.

Roy C
20th of March 2008 (Thu), 03:12
Its been a long time since I try the manual focus confirmation That I thought I would try it again in case it was me going mad (It was me to a certain extent :oops:).
You get the focus confirmation in manual if you use a non reporting tc or a reporting tc with the last three pins taped (to make it non reporting).
I just tried the 40D + 400mm f5.6 with a non reporting 2x (effectively f11) and it beeped and showed the confirmation light no problem.
I also tried a taped Canon 1.4 tc and again it showed focus confirmation.

By using a non reporting or taped tc you get focus confirmation by fooling the camera into not knowing the tc is there. I have been using full AF with this method for years but you do get 'hunting' on occasions. For people that are worried about the hunting, just switch to manual focus and you will get the focus conformation without the lens hunting.

NZDoug
20th of March 2008 (Thu), 15:09
Good one, Roy.
Thanks for the effort. :D
so if I et a 300F4 should I get a Canon mk 2x tele extender and tape the pins?
Is there a cheaper TC that is non reporting ???

TooManyShots
21st of March 2008 (Fri), 10:03
Wow, with the manual focus confirmation light and beep sound (taping the 3 pins on the extender), I am getting even more sharper image. But my metering is off and all over the place though.


Good one, Roy.
Thanks for the effort. :D
so if I et a 300F4 should I get a Canon mk 2x tele extender and tape the pins?
Is there a cheaper TC that is non reporting ???

Roy C
21st of March 2008 (Fri), 10:25
Wow, with the manual focus confirmation light and beep sound (taping the 3 pins on the extender), I am getting even more sharper image. But my metering is off and all over the place though.
No reason why the metering should be off as it is TTL metering. It will not show the correct aperture value but that is irrelevant to the metering.

NZDoug
24th of March 2008 (Mon), 20:32
THX! everyone for their input.
I placed the order for the 300 F4 IS and Canon 2x today, so it will all be new, new new!
AI ! CARAMBA ! :D

danny87
14th of April 2008 (Mon), 16:02
Just to bump this, i'm considering buying the 300, can you use AF with the 1.4x converter?

Edit, nevermind just had a confirmation that it does.

Roy C
14th of April 2008 (Mon), 16:06
Just to bump this, i'm considering buying the 300, can you use AF with the 1.4x converter?
300 f4 + 1.4 tc = f5.6 so no problems with AF on any body.