PDA

View Full Version : Do you bird shooters use bait?

LBaldwin
3rd of April 2008 (Thu), 05:08
I was wondering do you birders use any kind of bait to get the smaller birds?
My wife bought me some suet and a holder and I don't want to "cheat" as it were. But getting them into one small area proves difficult.

Your thoughts or techniques in this area would be appreciated.

Duane N
3rd of April 2008 (Thu), 05:14
I'm no expert in bird photography but when I used my 70-200 f/4 lens I had to bait them. Not really baiting them...I had feeders set up anyway and placed select branches around the feeder for the smaller birds to land on before hitting the feeder. That's when I took my shots.

Now that I purchased the 400 f/5.6 I don't do this very often because I don't need them closer....I actually have to move back which is nice. :D

*If there was only a way to bait the Red Tailed Hawks to come to my yard without killing anything or upsetting my neighbors I'd do it in a heartbeat. ;):lol:

oldtimingman
3rd of April 2008 (Thu), 05:57
Does 14 feeders and 8 nesting boxes count as bait? :D

...............old

wlaramie
3rd of April 2008 (Thu), 06:15
I have feeders on my deck and have had good luck placing a tree branch between two of the feeders to give the birds something to land on. This has produced some good results for me.
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=339412&highlight=wlaramie

S.Horton
3rd of April 2008 (Thu), 06:25
Do you mean for birds of prey making a kill?

sugarzebra
3rd of April 2008 (Thu), 08:35
Hi Les,
We have a couple of feeders at our home and and quite a few more at the cottage. The trick is to also put perching sticks near the feeders so that you can get good shots of the birds without including the feeders in the photo. Position the perching sticks so that you can create nice BG's & optimal lighting conditions in the morning & evening from where you will be positioned to work from.