PDA

View Full Version : FYI-20D Sports Illustrated Settings Posted


robekert
16th of November 2004 (Tue), 08:06
Hi all,
I don't own one but thought anyone with a 20D would like to see Sports Illustrated's recommended settings for the camera.

http://www.siphoto.com/?canon20D.inc

Cheers,
Rob

defordphoto
16th of November 2004 (Tue), 10:23
Hey Thanks! I have been wondering when they'd post those.

drisley
16th of November 2004 (Tue), 11:35
That's great! I wonder what software they use for Raw conversion?

sGu
16th of November 2004 (Tue), 12:33
excellent news, been waiting for a while now

dennykyser
16th of November 2004 (Tue), 14:28
Great Tips, thanks for the link

Doom1701e
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 02:24
Sorry, I dont belive that site belongs to Sports Illustrated. I checked Domain ownership and si.com which is the main site has a completly different ownership registration than siphoto.com. Just my investigative opinion. I will not be following their settings or sending them photos.

robekert
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 04:30
Sorry, I dont belive that site belongs to Sports Illustrated. I checked Domain ownership and si.com which is the main site has a completly different ownership registration than siphoto.com. Just my investigative opinion. I will not be following their settings or sending them photos.

The site has been in exsistence for a good amount of time. The site has also been referenced on the "SportsShooters" site. They even had an interview with the SI Photographer David Bergman who helped develop the settings for the 1D Mark II, and the site was referenced. I think if the site was not affiliated with SI they would have dispatched thier team of lawyers to shut it down. I looked at your site, and you know your way around a camera. I guess this site is for those of us who need a bit more help.
Cheers,
Rob

defordphoto
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 05:04
Sorry, I dont belive that site belongs to Sports Illustrated. I checked Domain ownership and si.com which is the main site has a completly different ownership registration than siphoto.com. Just my investigative opinion. I will not be following their settings or sending them photos.

This site is absolutely associated with SI in spite of domain ownership details and that has been well known in the photog community. It's probably associated with the publisher of SI.

When I was contacted by FHM magazine to purchase one of my photos, I ws contacted by the publishing company, not FHM. I was skeptical because of the email addresses these folks had, but once reaearched properly it was confirmed who they were.

Jon
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 09:26
From their home page (http://www.siphoto.com/?):
Welcome to the website for the photography department of Sports Illustrated Magazine.

CyberDyneSystems
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 09:32
Thanks,

The link has been added to the 20D sticky thread as well :)

Doom1701e
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 11:58
From their home page (http://www.siphoto.com/?):
Welcome to the website for the photography department of Sports Illustrated Magazine.

Anyone can put that on their homepage.

Jon
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 12:10
From their home page (http://www.siphoto.com/?):
Welcome to the website for the photography department of Sports Illustrated Magazine.

Anyone can put that on their homepage.

Sure, if they want Time-Life to own them. You can bet that they'd have their pants, shirt, shoes, socks, and cameras sued off them if they weren't part of SI. It's called protection of brand name.

Doom1701e
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 13:09
Yes, I know. I am just saying things arent always as they seem. I keep getting emails from Paypal that look very legit and even have the Paypal logo, but they are actually fraud emails trying to get my password. My entire point is be careful on the internet. Things arent always as they appear.

Jon
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 13:25
Yes, I know. I am just saying things arent always as they seem. I keep getting emails from Paypal that look very legit and even have the Paypal logo, but they are actually fraud emails trying to get my password. My entire point is be careful on the internet. Things arent always as they appear.

Phishing expeditions have a purpose, however nefarious. What would be the purpose of posting information about camera settings and guidelines and falsely claiming they came from SI? I wear a security hat at work, I block HTML e-mail, I'm as paranoid as the next guy, and I don't see any reason to get that skeptical about it.

OviV
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 14:19
If you go here:

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2004/about_us/magazine_staff/

You can see the SI staff. You will find Phil Jache listed as one of their photo editors. He is the registrar for siphoto.com. How much information do you need before you believe this to be an SI site in addition to it being common knowledge that it is?

Ovi

defordphoto
17th of November 2004 (Wed), 17:23
From their home page (http://www.siphoto.com/?):
Welcome to the website for the photography department of Sports Illustrated Magazine.

Anyone can put that on their homepage.

Boy your nick sure fits. A true doom-n-gloomer. :?

TMCCaptured
22nd of September 2009 (Tue), 23:47
I know this thread is well and truly old, but just wondering if anyone knows the MKIII and 5D MKII settings if they even use canon still?