PDA

View Full Version : Buying G9


AncientEmerald
16th of May 2008 (Fri), 21:25
Hey guys! I'm about to make my purchase of the Canon G9 soon, and I made a small list of what I need. I think all should go well, but I'd really love your inputs to calm my fears.

For memory-[I've never had memory problems, and I tend to save my pics often]
Site: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820208410

Batteries- Ok, one problem here. Someone recommended me batteries from sterlingtek. The only thing is, I can't seem to find the type of batteries for the G9. Either that, or I'm not looking hard enough. Anybody willing to quickly get the ones for the G9?

Camera-Ok, the problem here is that I plan to buy it online. Anyone know of a good site to buy? So far, I've liked the prices of this site. Anyone got a good site that they've bought their camera from?
Site: http://www.86photovideo.com/products.asp?product_id=18297


That should be it. I've been lurking here on this board, saving many articles on how to take great photos and reading all the good info. Great site, just love it. :)

Cashmonee
16th of May 2008 (Fri), 22:14
Reseller Ratings:
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/86th_Street_Photo_Video

Don't buy from them. Generally, if the price is too good to be true, it is. I was able to gt mine for $422 at Circuit City on sale a week and a half ago.

Eagle Eye
16th of May 2008 (Fri), 23:24
Best price I could find the other day when I ordered mine was Buydig.com. I have bought alot of stuff from them (camera wise) and they are a solid company. As far as batteries go the sterlingtek is what I have always bought and all you hve to do is look for the NB-2LH i believe. That is the same battery that comes with the G9. If you look at the small print it says where they list the cameras the batteries fit that there are other models not listed. for some reason the G9 isn't listed anywhere. I called them and the one's Imentioned are theones that fit. You can get the batteries for about 21.00 for two and then shipping is 6.95. Hope this heps and enjoy the G9.

Eagle Eye
16th of May 2008 (Fri), 23:26
One more comment. Newegg is the place I have bought all my memory. I have not had a bad card yet and have probably bought about 20 different cards. I have had very good luck with Transcend however I am sure other's will have other different recommendations.

rklepper
17th of May 2008 (Sat), 10:37
I bought a brand new Canon branded battery in the blister pack for 20 on ebay. You just need some patience.

Aweitzel
17th of May 2008 (Sat), 10:57
First when you finally get the new camera, HAVE FUN WITH IT! I love my G9.
As far as Batterys go. Canon Battery pack NB-2LH
Heres a link for some great ones.
http://sterlingtek.com/twocanbba.html

AncientEmerald
17th of May 2008 (Sat), 23:01
Hm, is there any other site someone can recommend me to buy the G9?

I was thinking about Camera Addict. I can't seem to find any negative about them like the other one I had posted. Anyone know the site well?

And Thanks for batteries! Got them bookmark'd, will buy them soon hopefully. Yeah, I've bought from Newegg before, too. I personally love them.

Bob_A
17th of May 2008 (Sat), 23:47
Hm, is there any other site someone can recommend me to buy the G9?

I was thinking about Camera Addict. I can't seem to find any negative about them like the other one I had posted. Anyone know the site well?

And Thanks for batteries! Got them bookmark'd, will buy them soon hopefully. Yeah, I've bought from Newegg before, too. I personally love them.

We need to know what country you live in before we can advise you on where to shop on-line.

If you live in Canada I'd buy from B&H Photo or TheCameraStore.com in Calgary. If you are from the US I'd buy from B&H Photo.

Camera Addict looks to be another rip-off site http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Camera_Addict

Check www.resellerratings.com (http://www.resellerratings.com) before going with any on-line merchant. They should have a score over 9.0 (6 month or lifetime) before you buy from them. Camera Addict has a score of 0.4 ... about the worst you can get.

If you are being attracted to these types of sites because of price, stop it. If anyone has camera equipment more than 5% cheaper than B&H it's likely a rip-off site ... unless it's some Dell coupon deal.

Many of the scam dealers are the same company running about a dozen different websites. They get tons of suckers.

BobsYourUncle
18th of May 2008 (Sun), 02:24
I bought a pair of batteries from Sterlingtek. Their service was excellent, the price was super cheap, and the batteries work like a charm - no complaints.

As for a place to purchase, please tell us if you are US or Canadian. I'm a Canuck, and though I found some cheaper place to buy south of the border, I didn't want the possible hassle of paying more than it was worth in duties, taxes and all that junk. I Bought mine from http://www.thecamerastore.com (http://www.thecamerastore.com/) in Calgary. They had a Christmas sale on and honored the price in early January. I paid around $481 and change. Alberata has only one tax - GST and they had free shipping to anywhere in Canada. Landed on my doorstep it was still cheaper than the local London Drugs offered it for before tax.

Really really be wary of online merchants!!!! Take the time to look at the link above for reseller ratings. Don't walk, run from 86 Street - bad news ripoff (enter choice of expletive deletive here) If you don't check the store out, you could get hosed big time.

Good luck on your purchase - the G9 is awesome and worth every penny of the retail dollar.

AncientEmerald
18th of May 2008 (Sun), 12:33
Ok, I see both Bobs, lol. It's good to know, because I was certainly being lead to that path. Well, I live in East Coast U.S, so yeah. B&H looks like a good site, ratings were definitely nice. reseller ratings is a very helpful site. Thanks guys!

So, the batteries are set, the memory is set, and now, the camera is also set. Again, thanks for teaching me a valuable lesson in online shopping. Just pray that all will happen on time! ;)