PDA

View Full Version : Shooting Weddings: Wedding Directresses, Managing Time

Tom W
30th of December 2004 (Thu), 21:06
Another great one! I have but a couple of weddings under my belt, and I swear (as I did after the first one) that I'd never do it again. OK, to be honest, they were basically charity cases (family - gAAAAck!!) and I let them know that they would be getting what they paid for. I'm not a professional wedding photographer, and I'm not convinced that I would want to be (nor am I convinced otherwise). I'm fortunate in that the day job pays the bills. But I am intrigued by the scenario.

This WD situation sounds interesting. I've not yet encountered such a thing, but I suppose that if enough poor family members get married, I'm bound to come across one. Anyway, it looks like you've discovered a way to make her (the inexperienced one) feel as though she's in charge, while you (who are experienced, obviously) are actually working to keep the whole thing running smoothly. That is a skill that some managers never develop.

Tom W
30th of December 2004 (Thu), 21:35
Some crowds are just hard to please. :)

Actually, I kind-of thrive on the stress of the normal wedding (whatever the normal wedding really is). I enjoy working to get things just right, or close to that anyway. But I've been more of a reactive photographer (look for the situation and shoot) rather than the proactive shooter (create the scenario with backdrops, lights, and props) and that certainly isn't going to create an extensive professional portfolio for weddings.

Still, its a lot more fun (but not nearly as profitable) when compared to the day job. Then again, things are always more fun when you don't have to do them. :)

DwightMcCann
22nd of March 2005 (Tue), 15:12