View Full Version : 20D 399.99?
tpinchback
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 17:20
Am I missing somthing here, or is it just an error?
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B0002XQJFA/ref=pd_luc_mri/002-5263639-0048843?%5Fencoding=UTF8&v=glance
NGrinerPhoto
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 17:25
back up to $1500 - should have bought it when you had the chance (not that they would have honored it)
tpinchback
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 17:27
24 used & new from $399.00 Clink there on the page then scroll about halfway down and add to cart I have one in my cart which says 20d and kit lens for 399.99
edsarkiss
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 17:44
run like the wind. $400 for something that wholesales for $1200 -- there is a catch. not sure what it is exactly yet, but someone will be scamming you shortly -- either putting on the pressure to buy expensive accessories ("OH! you mean you want the charger for this camera? that is $200. You want a neck strap? this is the original canon model for $300") -- which if you do not buy, you will not get the camera. another possiblilty is a $1000 shipping & handling charge. finally, you may get a knock on your door from the police looking to reclaim stolen goods.
this _is_ too good to be true. RUN.
tpinchback
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 17:46
run like the wind. $400 for something that wholesales for $1200 -- there is a catch. not sure what it is exactly yet, but someone will be scamming you shortly -- either putting on the pressure to buy expensive accessories ("OH! you mean you want the charger for this camera? that is $200. You want a neck strap? this is the original canon model for $300") -- which if you do not buy, you will not get the camera. another possiblilty is a $1000 shipping & handling charge. finally, you may get a knock on your door from the police looking to reclaim stolen goods.
this _is_ too good to be true. RUN.
yes I figured that much, that is why I am not going to check out and give them my credit card info.
edsarkiss
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 17:46
also note that the seller is brand new and has no transaction history. this is a dead givaway that this is a scammer who has opened a new storefront on Amazon.
JAZZ D.P.G.
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 17:52
All I can say is "Good Luck". Would be nice if it happens.
If you go ahead with this purchase, let us know how it goes down.
New supplier with no rating, Yahoo address, 10 new in box and all accessories with kit lens, New Jersey shipping.
defordphoto
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 17:56
There's some saying about monkeys flying out my...or was it pigs?
Anyway...
tpinchback
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 17:56
No way in hell Im going to be the gunny pig on this one, espically since I already have a 20d
wolf
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 18:43
There were a whole bunch of scammers on Amazon. I checked out the ads for 1Ds MK II and out of 20 ads 18 of them were selling the camera for $600 - $2000. I contacted two of them for the fun of it. They both said the camera was a Christmas gift and they were in a financial bind and needed the money badly. They would accept Western Union, bank transfer or escrow as payment. I told them I would send the money as soon as I received the camera, that was the end of the communication. The real funny part was one of them had 8 cameras and would cut me a deal for all 8. That person must have a lot of very generous friends.
roanjohn
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 18:57
RUN RUN RUN!!! As far away as you can!!!
Ro1
gramps
6th of January 2005 (Thu), 19:28
wanna buy some land? or a bridge?
ilya
7th of January 2005 (Fri), 20:03
I was curious, so I ordered one - knowing that I have the right to cancel before it shipped, which I promptly did. But I asked the question and here is the answer:
Dear sir,
We are having such low prices because of the special offers with the ocasion of the winter holidays. The product is new never opened in original box , comes with all the accessories. Also it has 2 year international warranty and FREE shipping .
The company i reprezent only accepts Western Union Money Order , due to some frauds which took place in the past. In order to provide you with safety also , we decided to colaborate with Amazon on concluding the deals as following.
We have an account opened to Amazon , which provides secure deals and insurance for buyers which make the payment by Western Union.To proceed with this , we need your personal details ( Name , Adress, State, City , Zip , Country ).We deliver the product to Amazon , and as soon as they receive it they are sending you a confirmation about it , and that you can safely send the payment to us using Western Union Money Order. As soon as we receive the payment , we contact Amazon about delivering the product to you.In case we deny that you have sent the payment , you can prove to Amazon that you made it by your receipt for Western Union , and they will return you the lost funds at once.
We believe that this way is working great for both parts and safe at the same time.
Thank you and waiting for your reply at once
Ilya XXXXXX <iXXXXXX@comcast.net> wrote:
can i ask how you are able to sell the 20d so cheap?
thanks
Needless to say, I didn't go any further with this. No such thing as a free lunch.
Ilya
merrrrjig
7th of January 2005 (Fri), 20:46
How stupid, and what a scam
Pyromaniac
7th of January 2005 (Fri), 20:56
You know what they say about thing that appear to be to good to be true.
timmyquest
7th of January 2005 (Fri), 21:58
There's some saying about monkeys flying out my...or was it pigs?
Anyway...
I think they were green monkies.
tpinchback
8th of January 2005 (Sat), 19:02
the price on amazon is now 750... interesting, I wonder if somone reported them to amazon and they were shut down
4walls
8th of January 2005 (Sat), 20:09
Must be a typo... I tried to buy a Kodak dSLR off Amazon about a year ago for around
$1000. Ha, got an email back from the vendor stating it was a misprint and the order
was cancelled. Not that I wanted the camera, but it sells for a lot more than $1000, I
could have sold it and bought what I wanted.
Canuck
8th of January 2005 (Sat), 22:34
I think they were green monkies.
You forgot the stripes and polka dots!! :rolleyes: :lol:
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.