PDA

View Full Version : 1Ds Mark II -Amazon- $700 USD??


HKMonkey
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 05:37
Has anyone ever purchased items through amazon.com? There is a seller listing a 1Ds Mark II for $700 USD. Obviously seems too good to be true, but with amazon's buyer protection, you can get your money back up to $2,500 USD if the seller doesn't send your item, or it is the wrong item, defective item, etc... With that buyer protection, is it worth it to give it a shot? Dropping $700 is not an easy thing for me, but if I might possibly get a 1Ds Mark II for that price, it's very tempting. Anyone have any advice???

jackus
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 05:42
They probably left off a '0' on the price. As the saying goes, "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is". Don't let them make a Monkey out of you. Oops. Sorry!

dhbailey
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 05:44
Be very wary -- you might get your goods, but for $700 it might be missing the battery, the body cap, the strap, the manual, or worse, some integral part of the camera.

OR, it might be stolen and if the police ever trace it, you would have to give it up and would then have to sue the culprits to try to get your $700 back.

If it sounds too good to be true, it usually IS too good to be true. And I wouldn't tie up $700 of my money in a lengthy dispute of "he didn't ship it" "yes I did" "no you didn't" "yes I did" before Amazon refunds your money.

Remember, all the sender has to do is to send you an appropriate looking box, weighing the appropriate amount, and have UPS or FedEx get your signature, and once that happens, even if the box contains only rocks, you will have a had time to prove that you weren't shipped the camera.

Too good to be true? Yes. Walk away from it, run away from it, don't think twice!

HKMonkey
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 05:57
Be very wary -- you might get your goods, but for $700 it might be missing the battery, the body cap, the strap, the manual, or worse, some integral part of the camera.

Too good to be true? Yes. Walk away from it, run away from it, don't think twice!

Well, from what amazon lists as their buyer protection guarantee, they state that if it is missing parts, it qualifies for your money back. I don't know, I've never bought any higher priced items through amazon before. I may just have to take your advice to run, though, just because the thought of losing $700 is not on my "things I want to accomplish" list. It's just the thought of getting such an amazing camera for $700 makes you wish it can be true.

Cadwell
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 06:09
I can understand the temptation. I'd be tempted too, but it's time to be realistic.

No-one is going to sell you a real, working, complete, or not stolen EOS 1Ds MarkII for $700.

Walk away.

Jim Larson
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 06:16
Usually, if you ask Amazon about a deal like this, the ad will disappear shortly after. Don't send money orders or use a wire transfer.

Belmondo
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 06:27
It's always a little distressing to see this same question asked over and over. Didn't we have a similar one just a few days ago about a $399 20D?

I guess the fact that there are always people willing to ask, "Could this be real?" means that scammers will alway be able to make a living. A pity.

HKMonkey
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 06:35
It's always a little distressing to see this same question asked over and over. Didn't we have a similar one just a few days ago about a $399 20D?

I guess the fact that there are always people willing to ask, "Could this be real?" means that scammers will alway be able to make a living. A pity.:o Yes, I do feel a little sad to be "one of those people," but I guess my desires got the best of me. But at least I am smart enough to consult intelligent people like yourselves and be smart enough to heed your advice. Sorry to post the same question as has been posted before, but I haven't visited this site for quite a while. I know... I'm ready for my flogging.:lol:

Belmondo
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 06:47
Sorry if I gave the wrong impression. I'm not singling you out. I'm really just disappointed that people still continue to try to take advantage of others. They always manage to find someone whose greed (or need) outweighs their common sense.

You did the right thing by posting the question. I'm sure you knew the answer when you did it, but if nothing else, it served to put others on notice that such things do happen and we should all be wary. For that reason, this discussion is a healthy thing.

What's the old saying? There ain't no free lunch.

cmM
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 08:20
$700? I'm gonna go buy a dozen of them :-P

LOL

Patrick 10D
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 08:28
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=52576


.

HKMonkey
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 09:12
Hahahaha... Well, I've long since decided to not pursue this any further, but I got an email from the person selling this item. I went to the link above and saw the other thread posted that said typically they are from somewhere where they use poor english and ask for Western Union to make the transactions. Well, for those reading this thread, I am here to tell you... BEWARE!!! Just as others here had warned, the email informed me that they are from Romania and they asked for Western Union for payment. Please, people, if you are as naieve as I was in thinking or hoping that this could possibly be true... It isn't! Save your money and go to a reputable store and be secure in the knowledge that you didn't get ripped off. Blessings to all, and thanks for all the great info!

cmM
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 09:26
I am here to tell you... BEWARE!!! Just as others here had warned, the email informed me that they are from Romania and they asked for Western Union for payment.Ya know I grew up in that country.... :cry:

hk29
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 09:28
I don't think Amazon guarantees new sellers ... I won't even touch the buyers with 1 positive ratings ... there used to be people on ebay that would buy $0.01 items to get positive feedback and rack up 8-10 points. You should always check to see what kind of items they sold before or bought before. Just my 2 cents.

HKMonkey
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 10:37
Ya know I grew up in that country.... :cry:Sooo sorry.... I think you took my comment not the way I intended. I just included that because the other people in the forum said that the sellers usually said they were from another country than the USA. I posted that to show that they were correct that this particular scam stated that they were not from the USA, in this case, Romania. I didn't mean that Romanians were scammers by any means, so if I offended you, I truly didn't mean it.:o

cmM
13th of January 2005 (Thu), 11:05
Sooo sorry.... I think you took my comment not the way I intended. I just included that because the other people in the forum said that the sellers usually said they were from another country than the USA. I posted that to show that they were correct that this particular scam stated that they were not from the USA, in this case, Romania. I didn't mean that Romanians were scammers by any means, so if I offended you, I truly didn't mean it.:oNo, no need to apologize.... The truth is, there are plenty of scammers there. But I'm not a scammer, even though I'm Romanian :-P