PDA

View Full Version : Craigs List Fun or Scam in UK?


scorpio_e
22nd of July 2008 (Tue), 11:44
Well I saw an ad for $1200 Lot of stuff to go with it. WAY to good to be true but know I am wondering...Of course the first thing they say is OHhhhh there is a small problem, I am in the UK going to school. So I figure I will tell them i have a relative that can pick it up today. So they say ok call. Below is the email exchange. Read the email from the bottom.


Great, please let him call me!

Randy Nicholas
Aintree Complex, Longmoor Lane,
Liverpool, Merseyside L9 7LN
United Kingdom
Ph: 07031890636





Yep still interested. Can my cousin call you today? He can pick it up whenever you are available today. He lives VERY close by.



Thanks again,

Ed







From: Randy Nicholas [mailto:dexterr26@hotmail.com]
Sent: Tuesday, July 22, 2008 12:06 AM
To: Krisiak, Edward
Subject: Canon EOS 5D Kit- $1200



Hi there,
I still have the Canon gear. But the thing is that i'm in the U.K. for my school ( i have the kit with me), if you're still interested in the sale please let me know and maybe we can work something out . So drop me a line if you're still interested!
Thank you!


Randy Nicholas
Aintree Complex, Longmoor Lane,
Liverpool, Merseyside L9 7LN
United Kingdom
Ph: 07031890636

steved110
22nd of July 2008 (Tue), 13:44
A serious seller would NOT be trying to sell on Craigslist in the US while he himself is in the UK - he'd get more for the gear here anyway, so why bother?

Randy is not a common name in the UK - in fact it's slang for wanting s-e-x

The cell phone number given is a fake - it doesn't look right for the UK and it doesn't ring.

Of course it's a con!

scorpio_e
22nd of July 2008 (Tue), 15:27
What took me by surprise is they said to call. I guess this is the old. I'll knock him over the head with a baseball bat and take his cash scam *L*

jeffreybomb
23rd of July 2008 (Wed), 20:04
I registered simply to respond to this thread. I found this thread after a Google search for dexterr26@hotmail.com. I emailed the seller on craigslist for a Macbook he's got listed. Check this out:

Hi there,
I still have the MacBook Pro. But the thing is that i'm in the U.K. for my school ( i have the machine with me), if you're still interested in the sale please let me know and maybe we can work something out . So drop me a line if you're still interested!
Thank you!

Randy Nicholas
Aintree Complex, Longmoor Lane,
Liverpool, Merseyside L9 7LN
United Kingdom
Ph: 07031890636

It's a scam. Check this out:

http://jason.blogdns.com/?cat=40

scorpio_e
23rd of July 2008 (Wed), 20:46
BIG TIME SCAM !!!

Redhumv
6th of August 2008 (Wed), 09:23
This scamer is still busy at work .... came across a 5D package on craigslist last night with the same message.

-----------
From: Randy Nicholas [mailto:dexterr26@hotmail.com]
Sent: Wednesday, August 06, 2008 7:02 AM
To: Keith, Todd
Subject: Canon EOS 5D Kit- $1200

Hi there,
I still have the Canon gear. But the thing is that i'm in the U.K. for my school ( i have the kit with me), if you're still interested in the sale please let me know and maybe we can work something out . So drop me a line if you're still interested!
Thank you!
Randy Nicholas
Aintree Complex, Longmoor Lane,
Liverpool, Merseyside L9 7LN
United Kingdom
Ph: 07031890636