PDA

View Full Version : Should I Charge Relatives for Prints?

tomslens
30th of July 2008 (Wed), 16:55
I wrestled over which forum to place this is as it seems like a business question but since I'm not a pro, I thought it would be better here.

I'm an amateur who has really just begun getting interested in portrait photography. My wife and son are mildly and severely unwilling models (respectively). So I'm intending to offer my services to close friends and family for portraits.

Since I'm doing this for experience and practice, I certainly have no interest in making money off of this. However, I do want to keep from getting abused. I don't want to give my images away on CDs and I want some control over the printing/quality. I've posted my stuff to places like Shutterfly and had relatives go there for prints. The problem is, some are cheap enough to copy the small thumbnails and print them off their printers instead!

My thought is that I would like to tell my family that the shoot will be free and so will my editting time. I'll come back to them with proofs and they can order what they'd like but they'll pay for the prints through me. I figure that I'll gently pad the prices to round them up to cover a little effort on my part but nothing crazy.

What do you guys do? I'm not looking to make money off the family but I want to create some respect around my work and handing out CDs of my images doesn't do that.

Tom

poloman
30th of July 2008 (Wed), 17:06
Watermark your images to discourage them from printing the thumbnails. I find this particularly disgusting because they then have an image that is not quality that they might tell others you took.
I think your approach is perfectly appropriate. You may wish to give away some 8x10's just so they can see the quality. Even to those that have printed the thumbnails.