dicky109
22nd of January 2005 (Sat), 15:06
Read on Gisle's Blog
>
http://heim.ifi.uio.no/~gisle/blog/index.php?p=18 (http://heim.ifi.uio.no/%7Egisle/blog/index.php?p=18)
>
> Just spotted a new incarnation of a webshop that since May has been
> scamming photographers by pretending to sell equipment at prices
> too good to be true. The new one is aptly known as
> NewCameraShop.com.
>
> The scam is simple: Payment is by untraceable and unrecoverable
> methods such as MoneyGram or Western Union - no credit cards. You
> wire them your money, and they don’t send you anything. There is
> nobody you can sue. Their web site is registered in the name of
> some victim of identity theft, and their physical contact address
> is totally bogus.
>
> Previous incarnations has used such names FineTronics, DigiBest,
> Sunlightics, CameraPot and AllDigitalDreams. They tend to like to
> pretend to operate from northern Europe (Oslo and Helsinki has been
> favourite locations in the past).
>
> Note to fellow bloggers: Please help spread the word about this
> type of scam by blogging it - but don’t link to the scammers’
> website. Linking to a website boosts its pagerank in Google and
> many other web search engines, which is not what we want. Mention
> their name, but don’t link
>
http://heim.ifi.uio.no/~gisle/blog/index.php?p=18 (http://heim.ifi.uio.no/%7Egisle/blog/index.php?p=18)
>
> Just spotted a new incarnation of a webshop that since May has been
> scamming photographers by pretending to sell equipment at prices
> too good to be true. The new one is aptly known as
> NewCameraShop.com.
>
> The scam is simple: Payment is by untraceable and unrecoverable
> methods such as MoneyGram or Western Union - no credit cards. You
> wire them your money, and they don’t send you anything. There is
> nobody you can sue. Their web site is registered in the name of
> some victim of identity theft, and their physical contact address
> is totally bogus.
>
> Previous incarnations has used such names FineTronics, DigiBest,
> Sunlightics, CameraPot and AllDigitalDreams. They tend to like to
> pretend to operate from northern Europe (Oslo and Helsinki has been
> favourite locations in the past).
>
> Note to fellow bloggers: Please help spread the word about this
> type of scam by blogging it - but don’t link to the scammers’
> website. Linking to a website boosts its pagerank in Google and
> many other web search engines, which is not what we want. Mention
> their name, but don’t link