PDA

View Full Version : Is this for real?


evorgsumaf
9th of August 2008 (Sat), 07:55
I was looking through this months Shutter Bug magazine, and saw a bunch of these seminars for Glamour photography seminars listed in the back. I thought it might be fun to check out, so I click on the site.

Anyways, here is the site: http://www.glamourphotonet.com/

Has anybody gone to any of these seminars? Is this for real? I mean I recognize some of the girls in the photos, but who is to say they are not from the internet. So, is this legit?

Sorarse
9th of August 2008 (Sat), 10:52
Don't know if they are for real or not, but the quality of some of the photos in their galleries leaves a lot to be desired, and isn't a particularly good advert for their services.

cory1848
9th of August 2008 (Sat), 11:42
That stuff is horrid...

Vetteography
9th of August 2008 (Sat), 11:47
That looks like a cheap website made by a thirty-something housewife with no html knowledge and some fellow PTA members for a crew.

Not a very professional looking setup.

flipstyle72
9th of August 2008 (Sat), 11:52
hahaa...that's lame... oh wait, they have a yahoo group!

evorgsumaf
13th of August 2008 (Wed), 11:24
I tried to join the Yahoo group, No luck.

Anyways, does anybody think this is for real? Maybe I should just spend the $30 and drive down to San Diego and report back my findings. HA HA

DocFrankenstein
13th of August 2008 (Wed), 13:52
BRING A MODEL AND GET IN FREE: Any photographer who brings a new approved figure model will receive FREE registration to any of our Monthly Outdoor Glamour/Figure Shoots or Centerfold Model Photo Shoots. All models must be over 18 years of age and fill out a model application and submit three to four photos. Walk-in models will be accepted only when needed. Please contact GPI for more information. ROFLMAO

That's gotta be fun to watch.

S.Horton
13th of August 2008 (Wed), 13:54
Even if real, the photos don't look nearly as good as the POTN G&N thread.

flipstyle72
13th of August 2008 (Wed), 15:01
It's real... REAL GWC out for some jollies...

DocFrankenstein
13th of August 2008 (Wed), 15:17
I can't see the gallery though.

evorgsumaf
13th of August 2008 (Wed), 20:27
Even if real, the photos don't look nearly as good as the POTN G&N thread.

My first thoughts as well.

Mrvile
13th of August 2008 (Wed), 20:31
Why do you want to go so badly? Doesn't look like it's worth the drive even if the "seminar" were free...

evorgsumaf
14th of August 2008 (Thu), 08:02
I really don't want to go, I was just wondering if it were legit.

JoYork
14th of August 2008 (Thu), 08:53
1998 just called, they want their website back...

condyk
14th of August 2008 (Thu), 08:58
1998 just called, they want their website back...

Yeah, I thought the exact same ... and I think a few of those 'models' are gran'ma's now too ;-)

flipstyle72
14th of August 2008 (Thu), 11:05
here's the guy who registered the site...

http://www.rockyforguson.com/

CannedHeat
15th of August 2008 (Fri), 07:28
Don't know if they are for real or not, but the quality of some of the photos in their galleries leaves a lot to be desired, and isn't a particularly good advert for their services.

Not to mention the horrid website. If I were to judge them by that alone, I would evaluate them as much less than professional.

aram535
15th of August 2008 (Fri), 18:44
oh my! someone tell them not to use direct flash, and use a real muslin not a drape or bed spread or whatever that is.

Hermeto
15th of August 2008 (Fri), 19:17
The site looks almost as horrible as that Lady Frankenstein’s site from couple of months ago. :p
The one that takes pictures of kids for beauty pageants..
Does anyone have the link to that site?
....

Okay, I found it:

http://pageantphotoretouching.homestead.com/pageant_photo_retouching.html

I wonder if she has some seminars too.. ;)

cdifoto
15th of August 2008 (Fri), 19:22
here's the guy who registered the site...

http://www.rockyforguson.com/
Bookmarked, for when I'm feeling incompetent. :D

CannedHeat
16th of August 2008 (Sat), 08:50
The site looks almost as horrible as that Lady Frankenstein’s site from couple of months ago. :p
The one that takes pictures of kids for beauty pageants..
Does anyone have the link to that site?
....

Okay, I found it:

http://pageantphotoretouching.homestead.com/pageant_photo_retouching.html

I wonder if she has some seminars too.. ;)

Good Gawd! I didn't see the original post, just looked at it. The website is horrid, but her retouching may be even more ghastly. There's one of a little girl with two white flowers in her hair (Hailey) where the "after" image looks like someone has applied about a quarter inch of old-style pancake makeup.

kjtw73
17th of August 2008 (Sun), 03:04
The site looks almost as horrible as that Lady Frankenstein’s site from couple of months ago. :p
The one that takes pictures of kids for beauty pageants..
Does anyone have the link to that site?
....

Okay, I found it:

http://pageantphotoretouching.homestead.com/pageant_photo_retouching.html

I wonder if she has some seminars too.. ;)

GOOD GOLLY MISS MOLLY!!!!!! Her editing is WAY TO MUCH!!! Now, how can you even consider using those shots for entering a pagent (or whatever)....they don't even represent the children AT ALL! WOW!!

As far as the Glam Workshops...yeah, them is weirdos...

That guy has wedding shots that look like they are from a wedding in the 70's...maybe his?

ilantis
17th of August 2008 (Sun), 04:21
Bookmarked, for when I'm feeling incompetent.
Man, ain't that the truth.

jmcder53
17th of August 2008 (Sun), 20:25
i did one of these type workshops way back in 1999 or 2000 with a guy who did them through a continuing education program with a college. he knew how to take pictures, but it seemed mostly like a bunch of old perverted guys who wanted to ogle young women.

Jon Foster
17th of August 2008 (Sun), 21:46
I just looked at the pictures in the link. HAHAHAHAHAHA...

Jon.

evorgsumaf
17th of August 2008 (Sun), 23:02
a bunch of old perverted guys who wanted to ogle young women.:lol::lol:

bwolford
18th of August 2008 (Mon), 12:12
Did he misspell his name on the Website in addition to the misuse of many other words?

mattograph
18th of August 2008 (Mon), 14:39
1998 just called, they want their website back...

Perfect.

gooble
18th of August 2008 (Mon), 19:38
Baaaad.