PDA

View Full Version : Difference between Telephoto and Zooms

Mock26
26th of January 2005 (Wed), 19:22
OK, I'm sure this has been covered before, so please forgive me. I am very new to photography and just learning the basics at the moment. One thing that I am having trouble understanding is the difference between a telephoto and a zoom lens. I have looked in several books, and searched online, and no one really ever does a direct comparison between the two. So, can someone explain to me, in terms as non-techinical as possible, what the difference between a telephoto and a zoom lens is? I know that some technical terms have to be used, but as simple as possible would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much. Take care and have a great day....

ciao,
john.

Eric DeCastro
26th of January 2005 (Wed), 19:27
telephoto is longer then a standard and is only one focal length.

and zoom is a range of focal lengths. like 20-200 is a wide to telephoto zoom.

http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/Glossary/Optical/Focal_Length_01.htm

Belmondo
26th of January 2005 (Wed), 19:30
A zoom lens is one that gives you a range of focal lengths. For example, a 28-135 zoom lens allows you shoot anywhere from slightly wide angle (28mm) to slightly telephoto (135mm), and anything in between.

Understand that in 35mm terms, 50mm is considered generally 'normal'---the focallength that most closely sees things as we do. Anything less than that is considered wide angle, and anything greater than that is telephoto.

So 'zoom' versus 'telephoto' is really an apples and oranges comparison. Zoom describes a lens with a range of focal lengths, and telephoto refers to lenses generally longer than 50mm.

It's possible to have a wide angle zoom, a zoom that ranges from wide angle to telephoto, or a telephoto-only zoom.

Eric DeCastro
26th of January 2005 (Wed), 19:34
So 'zoom' versus 'telephoto' is really an apples and oranges comparison.