View Full Version : Plethora of 8 gig cards in Classifieds
Killjoy
28th of August 2008 (Thu), 12:06
Is it just me, or does it seem like all of a sudden, there are a lot of new members posting Sandisk 8 Gig cards for sale?
It seems like they all have one or two posts (usually the one posting of the card for sale), and they are all the same price.
Also, they state that the UPC is removed.
Is this a scam or did I miss a gigantic sale/rebate?
SoaringUSAEagle
28th of August 2008 (Thu), 13:13
I noticed the same thing. I think if we report to to Pekka or another moderator they can check into stuff we cannot see ;)
Pete
28th of August 2008 (Thu), 14:56
My guess is that people are buying batches of Sandisk CF cards from Adorama and then cashing in the UPC codes for the rebate.
http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/digital/sandisk_rebates_spring_2008.html
So, it looks like people are cashing in on the rebates for multiple purchases so they can get a bit more out of Adorama.
I don't know why there's a sudden surge of people doing it right now though.
In2Photos
28th of August 2008 (Thu), 14:59
To add to what Pete said, as usual use common sense when buying items over the net. Ask for references and pictures. Try to meet up locally if you can.
Killjoy
28th of August 2008 (Thu), 16:32
I have heard of too many horror stories of people getting cards that were re-badged, and ended up with something other than what they thought they were buying.
I'll stick with purchasing something like that, from somewhere that I have some recourse.
I just thought it was odd, that a bunch of newbies all of a sudden, are all selling the same thing. Didn't know if it was a scam (i.e. one person with multiple username/listings) or the real thing.
Pete
28th of August 2008 (Thu), 17:06
I just thought it was odd, that a bunch of newbies all of a sudden, are all selling the same thing. Didn't know if it was a scam (i.e. one person with multiple username/listings) or the real thing.
There's no evidence here of multiple user names here (and it has been looked into). It's just a coincidence that a few people have had the same idea.
If it's a scam, then it's a very low return one (since the cost involved isn't huge).
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.