PDA

View Full Version : Canon 20d deals, or a fake?


johnathanesper
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 00:31
I have seen several deals on the internet for the Canon 20d body only in the $800-$1000 range, such as at www.royalcamera.com (http://www.royalcamera.com/) and www.expresscameras.com (http://www.expresscameras.com/). If in stock, are these truly good deals, or have there been problems with these types of stores selling fake Canon products? I am aware of this increasing problem, especially since the recent business week article of fake merchandise from China.
thanks!
Johnathan Esper
www.wildernessphotographs.com (http://www.wildernessphotographs.com)

robertwgross
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 00:41
Johnathan, do a check on those two companies with resellerratings.com

I think you will be shocked. Then you will be wise.

Routinely, those two companies are joked about, partly because their tactics are so bad.

---Bob Gross---

johnathanesper
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 00:53
I had already checked resellerratings.com, and see avg. scores of 1 out of 10 possible points. Is this just because they are pushy salespeople for their accessories, or are they fraudulent?

kb244
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 00:58
Lol, because they were fraudulent, the pattern is the same over and over again, Bait n Swap, scammers. Bait you in with the price, try to load you up on accessories, refuse the accessories, *poof* the camera no longer in stock, offer another camera at an inflated price, start getting questionable with you ,they hang up, you cant just place an order online, email says you gota call to confirm the order, 90% of the stores are the same company, royalcamera.com for example is a new one as of a few months but its the same as the companies years prior to it, all the same story. If its too good to be true, it is. I'll bet you if you check price watcher type places like yahoo and such, the top 3 lowest prices are usally scam stores.

robertwgross
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 01:00
I had already checked resellerratings.com, and see avg. scores of 1 out of 10 possible points. Is this just because they are pushy salespeople for their accessories, or are they fraudulent?

Yes, maybe you are right. Maybe they are just pushy. And maybe Adolf Hitler was just misunderstood.

Try to buy a Canon 20D body for $800 and see how that goes, then report back to us here. In fact, I would love to hear a tape recording of the conversation.

---Bob Gross---

johnathanesper
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 01:06
thank you for your advice! This is the first day I have ever been on any discussion forums on the web, so forgive me if I sound uneducated! I think I wont call them after all!
Johnathan Esper
www.wildernessphotographs.com

robertwgross
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 01:30
I think I wont call them after all!

Johnathan, you might want to begin an order with those crooks. They will end up canceling it on you when you won't pay their inflated final price. Actually, the phone call might be good for a few laughs, if it doesn't just raise your blood pressure.

---Bob Gross---

ScottK
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 19:36
Just for laughs, here's a page put together with pictures of the locations for a bunch of the Brooklyn camera sellers that operate on-line: http://www.donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/

Both the outfits you mentioned are listed. Though their store fronts don't look as questionable as some of the ones shown.

phili1
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 19:42
Your dealing with an electronic devise and my opinion you want to deal with reputab le people, so check them out. Some of these guys do not stand behind the product.

MDJAK
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 19:49
I went to resellerratings today to check out royal camera as they are listing the 1d mark II at 2500. I saw one person said they charged him 500 dollars for shipping.

All one need do is look at the price of the accessories listed on the page. When someone is selling a 256 mb compact flash card for 300 dollars, run as fast as you can.

And, btw, Mr. Gross, I can take any kind of tongue in cheek on forums and have never, ever been upset by anything I've read on any forum I've been on, but I must state that any reference to you know who is totally inappropriate, especially in the way you used it.

wcstory
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 19:59
DO NOT DEAL WITH ExpressCameras.com!!! They SUCK. Don't know the other one.

The bait and swithch games are endless. They try and get you to call for the 20D with the 28-135 & 75-300 IS USM lens kit "continental" package. After you give them all the shipping and payment info they try to tell you about the sweet deal they can get you on a upgrade lens kit - actually cheap sigma lenses. OK lenses, but not at those prices.

If you hold your ground and don't fall for the upsell or switch you will get an e-mail exactly like this one I received. I will forward the e-mails to you if you want.


Dear Customer,

Thank you for the order you placed with us.

Unfortunately, we have become oversold on the item(s) you ordered with us, and the order is now backordered. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you,and your order will be canceled. Please note that we have not charged your credit card.

Once again, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience. If there is anything else we can assist you with, please feel free to call us at 800-336-7250#1 ext. 246.

Thank You,

Shipping Department



Check resellerratings.com !

I got mine from Cameta Camera and had a pleasant experience. Lens and body serial numbers checked out as proper USA stock.

Bill

MrChad
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 20:35
I've had good luck getting cheap bodies from Abe's of Maine.
A friend of mine likes Electric Sam's

Else I prefer to always use BHphoto. You might want to try Abe's if the price is lower but I wouldn't recommend getting any other gear from them.

CyberDyneSystems
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 20:43
Abes of Brooklyn?

You ARE lucky! ;)

MrChad
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 20:53
Abes of Brooklyn?

You ARE lucky! ;)


Well I was thinking that too, so my last body purchase, the Drebel, came from BHphoto :D
It's hard to put a price on piece of mind sometimes.

But amazingly yeah, I got a Real Elan 7N from Abe's this past summer.

robertwgross
9th of February 2005 (Wed), 21:07
And, btw, Mr. Gross, I can take any kind of tongue in cheek on forums and have never, ever been upset by anything I've read on any forum I've been on, but I must state that any reference to you know who is totally inappropriate, especially in the way you used it.

I can't parse this message. Please translate into English, please.

---Bob Gross---

scottbergerphoto
10th of February 2005 (Thu), 06:14
I can see that some might see Bob's comment as trivializing the nature of the horrors of Adolph Hitler (? you know who). I'd be the first one to step in if I felt that that someone was trying to do that intentionally or was being anti semitic. But I don't believe that was Bob's intent and personally, I thought his comment was funny and accomplished the point he was trying to make.
Scott

C.S.I.
19th of February 2005 (Sat), 11:11
Anyone buy from these guys before? Descent price and good rating on reselleratings.com ...... http://buydig.com/shop/product.aspx?sku=CNEOS20D1855 1354 when you add to cart (with lens).


Bill

shep
19th of February 2005 (Sat), 11:24
There are only two NYC camera stores I would trust:
B & H Photo and Adorama. I have dealt with them and they are very efficient and honest. Most all equipment I have I bought from B & H. You gotta understand the mentality of people from NYC. I live in San Diego and I think half the population is from New "Yawk." Disgusting cretins, they be! LOL

Years ago when I was a working news photographer, I bought a 300mm Nikkor lens from another NYC camera store. I was never sharp and Nikon Professional said they could not figure out what was wrong. It was a reject.

Hope this sheds some light on the subject. ~~SHEP~~

C.S.I.
19th of February 2005 (Sat), 11:51
There are only two NYC camera stores I would trust:
B & H Photo and Adorama. I have dealt with them and they are very efficient and honest. Most all equipment I have I bought from B & H. You gotta understand the mentality of people from NYC. I live in San Diego and I think half the population is from New "Yawk." Disgusting cretins, they be! LOL

Years ago when I was a working news photographer, I bought a 300mm Nikkor lens from another NYC camera store. I was never sharp and Nikon Professional said they could not figure out what was wrong. It was a reject.

Hope this sheds some light on the subject. ~~SHEP~~



We may be cretins, but we can play ball...... ;) (4-0 if memory serves correct?) JK.... anyway whatever I have camera wise came from B+H, but the price at BuyDig is like 150 cheaper, with free shipping / no tax (good for me here in NY anyhow, saves like another 100). ResellerRatings.com usually on the money.

Citizensmith
19th of February 2005 (Sat), 12:24
Any time you have to ask if a deal is real it isn't. Simple as that.