PDA

View Full Version : A question

Kronie
29th of September 2008 (Mon), 13:44
I'm kind of new to processing HDR images and had a question.

I understand that the best way to create an HDR is to bracket 3 or more exposures and blend with PM or CS3.

You can also take a 1 RAW file and get the same look.

Whats the advantage of the multiple RAW files if you can get the same look from one? I understand your working from Jpegs in PM instead of RAW files.

I haven't yet done a side by side comparison but does it create a better image with multiple RAW's?

Is there less noise?

whats the benefit?

hawkeye60
29th of September 2008 (Mon), 13:51
Multiple images capture the whole dynamic range. One raw file does not, and therefore it's only a simulated effect.

canonloader
29th of September 2008 (Mon), 14:40
Whats the advantage of the multiple RAW files if you can get the same look from one?
You can't get quite the same look starting from a single RAW file. Like Hawkeye said, there is only 5 stops of dynamic range in a 40D and 7 in a 1D sensor. You have to take multiple images to cover them all.

But when you start with one, it opens in CS3 ACR as 0 exposure. Don't touch the other sliders, but move the Exposure slide to -4, then save a .tif of that, then slide it to -3 and save another tif. Just hit Alt + Save image and it will save another image automatically, using one number higher. Saves a lot of work. When your done, you have 9 images with different "psuedo" exposures. You can then import those to Photomatix and tone map them.

But when done, save that as a tif also, then in CS3, go to File/Open As, drop down the files of type picker and choose RAW. It will open that tif in the ACR interface and you can use the RAW sliders to change the image. Very neat. You can open almost any image as a RAW this way. ;)